Terry’s Chocolate Orange Pannacottas!

Delicious desserts full of Terry’s Chocolate Orange that are super easy to make, and that everyone will love!

IMG_5434_1

It’s no secret that I LOOOOOVE Terry’s Chocolate Orange – it is literally my favourite chocolate. This is demonstrated by the amount of Chocolate Orange themed recipes already on my blog – such as my No-Bake Chocolate Orange Cheesecake. Its the 2nd most popular recipe on my blog – and its no surprise, everyone loves Chocolate Orange! And hopefully you will all agree with this recipe – I make it on everyone occasion I have.

I have always loved Pannacottas – When I was away at Cookery School I had to create the dessert for a Charity Dining event. I had to include White Chocolate and Raspberries as the main elements so I came up with the idea of a Pannacotta with raspberry jelly on top, with raspberry sorbet and more decorations of utter deliciousness! Two of the chef tutors Joe and Colin helped create this recipe for the pannacottas as I had tried one and it had failed completely as I was trying to use Agar Agar and used waaaaay too much!

IMG_5421

This recipe is smooth, light, and totally moreish – with the delicate dollop of whipped cream on top, and the crunch of an additional segment of chocolate or two, its a dream to eat. My Chocolate Orange Cookies would also be a good addition to this dessert if you wanted to go the whole shabang and make something completely Chocolate Orange themed – and I wouldn’t blame you – who wouldn’t love it?!

If you are Vegetarian and obviously wouldnt use Gelatin, you can use Agar Agar which is a Vegan Setting agent made out of Seaweed. I have used it before, and it works in the exact same way as Gelatin, but obviously its not made out of Animal Products! Instead of using the 4 Gelatin leaves in this recipe, use 9g of Agar Agar and follow the same method below!

I really hope you guys like this – its my favourite.

IMG_5456

This makes 6-8 Pannacottas!

Ingredients

– 450ml Double/Heavy Cream
– 200ml Full Fat Milk
– 1tsp Vanilla Bean Extract
– 1x 175g Terry’s Chocolate Orange – Chopped finely.
– 45g Caster Sugar
– 3-4 Dr Oetker Gelatin Leaves (7g worth)
– Whipped Cream
– Extra Grated Chocolate Orange/Segments

IMG_5453

Method

1) Put the leaves of gelatin into a bowl or jug and cover with COLD water so as to soak it and get it ready for going in the mix later on. It is important for it to be cold water or it will dissolve into the water and it will be useless!

2) Pour the cream, milk and vanilla into a heavy based pan and heat gently – Stir occasionally and try not to heat too quickly because it might catch on the bottom and start to burn to mixture.

3) When the mixture reaches roughly 85C, turn off the heat and pour in the chopped chocolate and caster sugar and whisk until melted and smooth – Get the gelatine leaves out of the water and squeeze out the water – add to the mix and whisk again until dissolved. You can taste test it to see if there are any lumps or a funny texture. If there are lumps in it or the gelatine hasn’t dissolved fully then the mix isn’t hot enough to melt it fully so turn the heat back on for a little longer until it is done!

4) Pour into whatever serving Jar/plate/dish/bowl/cup/ring/anything and cover with clingfilm and refrigerate until set. If doing smaller ones like me it’ll take probably 5 hours or more to set fully. If you decide to create one large panna cotta for the dinner table then set it overnight!

5) Decorate with whipped cream, grated chocolate, and some more chocolate orange segments!

IMG_5445

Tips and Ideas

I used my Kilner Jars to serve my desserts in – I make sure they are clean by running them through a hot dish washer cycle before using them, but as the mixture is only in there for a couple of days, and the desserts are stored in the fridge, the ‘sterilisation’ of the jars really isn’t important!

I find gelatine is a funny one because you can use more or less depending on how firm you want the mixture but the general rule is…
– Firm Jelly: use 7 grams of gelatin to 250ml of liquid
– Tender Jelly: use 7 grams of gelatin to 500ml of liquid
– Delicate Jelly: use 7 grams of gelatin to 750ml of liquid

These desserts last for 2 days, in the fridge!

IMG_5457

ENJOY!

Find my other Dessert recipes on my Recipes Page!

You can find me on:
Instagram
Facebook
Pinterest
Twitter

J x

© Jane’s Patisserie 2015

10 thoughts on “Terry’s Chocolate Orange Pannacottas!

  1. Anisa says:

    Hi Jane love choc orange toooo 🙂
    Is 9g of agar agar in powder form or leaf type form ? Does it matter which one I use as I don’t eat gelatine products xxx

    Like

Leave a Reply

