Gluten-Free Carrot Cake!

A Delicious Moist & Spicy Gluten-Free Carrot Cake, smothered in Delicious Vanilla Buttercream!

IMG_5342

Also – I have an announcement to make… I am officially Gluten Intolerant. I know, shock and absolutely horror – for me this is one of the worst intolerances I could possibly have (the other being Dairy of course!) but after years of being unwell, and after doing some research I have decided (with doctors also telling me too) to be Gluten Free! Noooooooooo I miss bread already! 😦

How much I stick to the Gluten Free diet is yet to be determined – I would say probably 95% as on Christmas I want all the food – including bread, and gravy, and cake. Actual glutenny cake. However, for now, I will be posting more Gluten-Free recipes more frequently, along with my regular normal recipes – I will just be trusting my trusty Taste Testers to let you guys know how it tastes (and I might have one bite.. maybe. Probably.) And don’t worry, I will be making sure that the Gluten-Free recipes taste just as good as the normal!

IMG_5371

Starting this new diet I wanted to treat myself to one of my favourite cakes, and with seeing so many bloggers over the past few weeks post regular Carrot Cake recipes, and after the success of my own Carrot Cake Recipe that I posted back in August, I decided that a Gluten Free Carrot Cake would be ideal. Its moist, delicious, spicy, and utterly moreish.

I just used any bog standard Gluten-Free Self Raising Flour that I found in my local supermarket and it worked so much better than I thought – the carrot in the cake brings out so much moisture and deliciousness that you can’t tell the difference between this cake, and a regular carrot cake. I did decide to only use the Carrot & Sultanas in this cake, as in my other Carrot Cake recipe I used nuts – and both combinations are DELICIOUS!

I would seriously recommend this recipe to those who know Gluten-Free people, or have GF people in the family – you can all enjoy it!

IMG_5340

This Cake serves 10-12!

Ingredients

Gluten-Free Carrot Cake
– 210g Unsalted Butter
– 300g Caster Sugar
– 3 Large Eggs
– 300g Gluten-Free Self-Raising Flour
– 1tsp Ground Cinnamon
– 2tsp Baking Powder
– 450g Grated Carrots
– 150g Sultanas

Buttercream
– 200g Unsalted Butter, room temperature
– 450g Icing Sugar
– 1-3tbsp Whole Milk
– 1/2 tsp Ground Cinnamon

IMG_5366

Method

1) Preheat your oven to 180C/160C fan and Grease and line with parchment paper two 8″ Springform Cake Tins.

2)  Cream together your butter & sugar until smooth – add in the eggs, flour, cinnamon, and baking powder and beat again till smooth. I use my KitchenAid with the paddle attachment, mixing at about level 4-5!

3) Once this is mixed, squeeze out some of the water it the carrots using kitchen paper towel, or a hand towel (if its really moist!) and then add to the cake mix along with the sultanas. Mix the mixture again until its smooth (I did this part with a  spatula) and then pour into the cake tins – bake in the oven for 30-35 minutes until the cake is cooked – test using a cake skewer, it should come out clean.

4) Leave the cakes to cool for 10 minutes before removing from the tins – then cool fully on a wire rack.

5) Make the buttercream by beating the room temperature butter for a couple of minutes until its really smooth and supple, then add the icing sugar half at a time making sure its fully incorporated before moving on.

6) Add in a little bit of milk at a time till you get the consistency you like – I tend to use two tablespoons. Pipe the buttercream onto the cakes and then sprinkle the top of the cake with the extra cinnamon! Enjoy!

IMG_5360

Tips and Ideas

I used the Gluten-Free Self-Raising Flour that I found in my local supermarket (Asda) – it doesn’t really matter which one you use because the carrots create so much moisture that the texture of the flour is the same as if you used regular Self-Raising Flour! So thats always a bonus.

If you would rather make the cake with some Cream Cheese Frosting then you can mind my Cream Cheese Frosting recipe here – Cream Cheese Frosting.

This cake will last best in the fridge – for 3 days, covered.

IMG_5372

ENJOY!

Find my other Gluten-Free recipes on my Recipes Page!

You can find me on:
Instagram
Facebook
Pinterest
Twitter

J x

22 thoughts on “Gluten-Free Carrot Cake!

  1. amodoyle69 says:

    Delighted to know you will be posting more gf recipes as my mum is gluten intolerant. I have made your no bake rolo cheesecake so many times and it is a favourite among my extended family however unfortunately my mum can’t have it!!!!!

    I will definitely try this for her

    Thanks Anne Marie

    Sent from my iPad

    >

    Liked by 1 person

  2. JoJo @ Every Nook & Cranny says:

    Oh that’s rotten news Jane. You know my dad is Coeliac and I was tested earlier this year (thank god I’m not!) so I understand how hard this is on you. The carrot cake looks gorgeous, I’ll have to make it for my dad – I’ll look forward to your future GF creations x

    Liked by 1 person

  3. miajastmartin says:

    I am so excited about this recipe! I am allergic to Gluten (as well as tons of others in my family) and I can tell you from experience that there are tons of options now-a-days. I just want to caution you on the occasional cheat. I haven’t had gluten in years and any time I accidentally have gluten, I end up feeling extremely sick for a few days. You may not be 100% allergic or intolerant, but I would be careful anyway. Can’t wait to see more of your GF recipes!

    Like

  4. Alisha says:

    Hi Jane! Can’t wait to try your carrot cake recipe, looks excellent! Just wanted to post and let you know that if you’re looking for gf bread you should try Genius Gluten Free Bread, their triple seeded variety is really good and definitely the best gf bread I’ve tried yet 🙂 I discovered that I was wheat intolerant earlier this year so I share your pain in giving up the goodies!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

