Sugar Cookies!

Delicious sweet Sugar Cookies with a Ready-Made Royal Icing decoration!

IMG_5094_2

I have always loved Sugar Cookies – such an amazing basic recipe that doesn’t spread, and you can decorate it in oh so many ways! They’re the perfect biscuit to bake for different events throughout the year, or even for bake sales (I will be baking some for Children In Need in a couple of weeks!)! The idea behind Sugar Cookies is so simple and versatile that its a staple in anyones recipe book in my opinion – hence the recipe today!

I was a little experimental with my decorations as I was trying new things out – so sorry if some of the things are a little off, or not quite as refined as you think they should be – but I had so much fun making everything! The cookies are the perfect bake to make with kids, and especially if you want something with a little more show!

IMG_5115

I’ve put some delicious Cookie recipes up on my blog over the past year, my most popular being my Chocolate Orange Cookies which something just slightly different to these – but honestly, I think these Sugar Cookies are the perfect little bake if you want something for a theme!

The guys over at Renshaw sent me across some Ready To Use Royal Icing to review and I couldn’t pass up the chance – I love Renshaws products and the Ready-To-Use side of Royal Icing was literally too good not to try! I have hated using Royal Icing in the paste as I find it such a pain to make up, its far too much effort! You can read about the product and buy it HERE!

IMG_5132

The Ready To Use Royal Icing is an amazing product – and I am genuinely not just saying that – I love it. I used it on some of the Harry Potter Wedding Cake I made last week, and obviously for this recipe too. I can’t wait to try out more things with it as well! It comes in a brilliant White colour that is easy to change into whatever colour you like with some food colourings – and it has so many uses its lovely. You can pipe details with it, use it for run-outs, cover a cake, etc! Amazing! I seriously recommend it if you need to use Royal Icing in the future.

IMG_5134

This recipes makes 35-40 biscuits!

Ingredients

– 255g Unsalted Butter
– 200g Caster Sugar
– 1tsp Vanilla Bean Paste
– 1 Large Egg
– 425g Plain Flour, plus extra for dusting
– 1x 400g Renshaw Ready to Use Royal Icing
– Food Colourings

IMG_5117

Method

1) Preheat your oven to 200c/180c Fan and line 3-4 baking trays with parchment paper.

2) Cream together the Butter and Sugar until light & fluffy, then gradually beat in the egg and vanilla so that the mixture is smooth. Add in the Plain Flour and beat again till the dough is combined.

3) Roll the mixture out on a lightly floured work surface to the thickness of 2 £1 coins – cut them out in the various shapes that you want, I used 6cm size cutters but in various different shapes so that I had a mixture! Place them onto the lined baking trays a couple of cm’s apart and bake in the oven for 8-10 minutes until they are starting to go golden around the edges – Leave to cool on a wire rack.

4) To decorate your cookies – Loosen a few spoonfuls of the royal icing with a few drops of water just a little so that when you leave a trail of icing going through itself, it stays there for about 20-30 seconds – pipe this round the edge of the cookies, or in whatever pattern you please – once they’re all done, leave the icing to harden slightly for about 15 minutes.

5) Once the icing has hardened, split the rest of the icing off into the colours you want to use – and loosen the icing again, this time adding slightly more water so that the trail lasts about 5-8 seconds – Fill all of the gaps with the icing so that you’re doing “run outs” of icing and then leave to dry.

6) Add any more decoration that you please – I painted on some darker colours to give the cookies slightly more depth simply using water downed paste food colourings! Enjoy!

IMG_5126

Tips and Ideas

I used the Renshaw Ready To Use Royal Icing as I was sent the product to review – and honestly it is so much easier than making it yourself, and its the perfect amount in the tub! If you want your cookies to have a little more depth, you can add a layer of fondant to the cookies, then decorate with the Royal Icing!

I used Sugarflair paste colours to colour and paint my cookies – you need so so little to go a long way that they’re the perfect colouring for the job!

These will last 4-5 days in an airtight container!

IMG_5127

ENJOY!

Find my other Cookie recipes on my Recipes Page!

You can find me on:
Instagram
Facebook
Pinterest
Twitter

J x

21 thoughts on “Sugar Cookies!

  1. Claire | Art and Soul says:

    Don’t apologise for the decoration – I think these are beautiful 🙂 I’d love to do more biscuit decoration but have to find a time when an enthusiastic 2 year old isn’t trying to pinch them from the board as I pipe!
    And, if you can, please post more pics of the Harry Potter cake. I think I saw a pic on Twitter (or I’m imagining it…) and it looked amazing. I’m sure the bride and groom were thrilled.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Lauren at Knead to Dough says:

    These are stunningly decorated! I went to a cake painting class a few months ago but never thought to try it on cookies! Did you buy the sugar flair liquids or use the normal gels? At the class we used liquid but I only have the gels at home, wondered if they would work? 🙂 gorgeous recipe as usual Jane! X

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

