Honeycomb Flapjacks!

A classic traybake, with a sweet chocolatey twist – Honeycomb Flapjacks!

IMG_4332_1

I have had many requests for a recipe like this, and no doubt, there will be more than one flapjack recipe on my blog – however, I couldn’t resist posting these ones! Honey is an odd one for me, but I LOVE using it in baking. These flapjacks have a honey themed base rather than golden syrup, and to make it even more ‘honey themed’ I of course topped them with honeycomb.

They’re crunchy, gooey, sweet, chocolatey, honey-y and delicious. I’ve made these many times for a simple bake to have in the background, something that can easily be in the kitchen – or made in a rush, they’re so simple!

IMG_4318

This recipe is so versatile that you can add raisins, nuts, orange zest, chocolate chips, or any chocolate bar on top that you like – but I like this combination best. The milk chocolate on top gives it a creamy texture that I can often crave with traybakes (I think this is obvious… how many chocolatey bakes do I have on my blog?!) But seriously – this is also optional. If you wanted an AMAZING basic flapjack recipe, then these are top notch.

I hope you like the recipe – let me know how you get on!

IMG_4340

This makes 25 squares!

Ingredients

– 200g Unsalted Butter, diced
– 200g Demerara Sugar
– 200g Clear Honey
– 400g Porridge Oats
Zest of 1 orange – optional
100g Raisins – optional
– 250g Milk Chocolate, chopped
– 4x Crunchie bars, chopped (130g multipack)
IMG_4326
Method

1) Preheat your oven to 180C/160CFan and line a 9x9inch Square tin with parchment paper!

2) In a medium pan add your Butter, Sugar, and Honey – on a low-medium heat, stir together and melt your ingredients till the butter has melted, and the sugar has dissolved.

3) Once the mixture has melted, add you porridge oats, and the honey mixture to a large bowl and mix together! Press down evenly into the prepared tin, and bake in the oven for 18-22 minutes until baked through, it’ll start to go golden and crispy at the edges!

4) Once baked, remove from the oven and leave to cool in the tin. Once cooled, melt your chocolate and pour over the top, and then sprinkle over and press in your honeycomb bars!

5) Leave to set, then cut into squares (I cut 25) and enjoy!

IMG_4344

Tips and Ideas

You obviously don’t have to decorate your Flapjacks with the Chocolate and Honeycomb bars, but I like them! All so honey like!

These will last in an airtight container for 4-5 days at room temperature!

You can also sub out the raisins for nuts if you prefer – just use the same amount!!

IMG_4338

ENJOY!

You can find my other Tray Bake Recipes on my Recipes Page!

You can find me on:
Instagram
Facebook
Pinterest
Twitter

J x

4 thoughts on “Honeycomb Flapjacks!

Leave a Reply

