Coconut Loaf Cake!

A Simple yet Elegant Sponge Cake, full to the brim with the delicious Coconut Flavour – perfect for Afternoon Tea, or a Scrumptious Treat!

IMG_4268_1

I recently posted links to my Coconut Brownies recipe on my social media pages, and they went down an absolute storm again. I always forget that Coconut is loved by so many, but is forgotten so often! I decided therefore it would be time to post my recipe for my Coconut Loaf Cake as I know you will all love it!

This recipe is utterly delicious – yet so super easy to make. It makes a nice change from your regular cakes you get at coffee shops, or even the staple bakes that you might make at home – and, it looks impressive, even considering how simple it is! I wacked this cake out at a dinner party recently, and nobody knew it was seriously THAT simple! And equally as yummy.

IMG_4239

I do realise that not everyone likes coconut, but I seriously do underestimate how many do like it – like I find its a flavour that is forgotten about, but when remembered – it is cherished so highly. The coconut in the sponge makes each mouthful so moist yet full of flavour, and the toasted coconut on top makes for a delightful crunch that everybody craves in something coconutty!

This cake is perfect for all occasions; a dinner party, afternoon tea, a random treat, or just for yourself with a fork (always eat cake in moderation, blahblahblah). But seriously, if you love coconut – you will love this cake! Enjoy!

IMG_4271

This serves 10-12!

Ingredients

Cake
– 200g Unsalted Butter
– 200g Caster Sugar
– 200g Self Raising Flour
– 4 Medium Eggs
– 2-3tbsp Whole Milk
– 75g Desiccated Coconut
Topping
– 250g Icing Sugar
– 1-2tbsp Water
– 25g Desiccated Coconut
IMG_4241
Method
1) Grease & Line a 2lb (900g) Loaf tin with Parchment paper, and preheat your oven to 180C/160C Fan
2) Beat together the butter, and caster sugar until smooth and creamy – this can take a couple of minutes. Add in the flour, eggs, and milk and beat again till smooth. Once smooth, briefly mix in the coconut and pour into your tin.
3) Bake in the oven for 45-55 minutes – test the cake after 45 minutes, but a skewer should come out clean – depending on your oven it can take the full amount of time, if not a tad longer!
4) Once baked, remove from the oven and leave to cool in the tin.
5) Once cooled, toast the coconut for decoration – with a DRY Frying pan, pour in the desiccated coconut and heat on a medium heat, stiring frequently. At first, the coconut will do nothing but sit there, but suddenly it’ll change and start toasting nicely so keep an eye on it and stir frequently – it’ll be a golden brown colour when finished!
6) In a bowl, mix together the icing sugar and water until smooth. Remove the cake from the tin and pour the icing over the top – sprinkle with the Toasted Coconut and leave the icing to dry – ENJOY!
IMG_4248
Tips and Ideas
You can turn this cake into a normal round cake if you like, but the baking time will be less – about 35-40 minutes – be careful when baking if you use a different tin!
I use desiccated coconut because it is readily available in my local supermarket – and it tastes utterly delicious when toasted – I matched this with the simple water icing, but if you would prefer a buttercream recipe there are plenty available on my recipes page! 🙂
This cake will last 3 days, at room temperature, in an airtight container.

IMG_4261

ENJOY!

P.S. I’ve got a lovely bunch of coconuts, doo doo da doo 😉

You can find my other Cake & Coconut Recipes on my Recipes Page!

You can find me on:
Instagram
Facebook
Pinterest
Twitter

J x

13 thoughts on “Coconut Loaf Cake!

  1. Jess Carey says:

    Coconut is my favourite thing in the world I think… in tea, perfume, moisturisers, and especially cake!! Love how simple this recipe is, I’m pretty sure I actually have all the ingredients already!! Guess I’m making coconut cake for the long weekend 😀

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

