Custard Cream Cupcakes!

A cupcake twist on a Classic Biscuit – the Custard Cream. Custard flavoured Cupcakes, Vanilla Frosting, and a Custard Cream biscuit to boot!

IMG_3758_1

Cupcakes are what started my baking addiction, but before this all I used to eat was cookies, biscuits and cakes from the shop… this of course included the ‘Custard Cream’. I LOVE biscuits out of the packet, they’re built for being dunked into a hot drink and I will happily sit there an eat an entire packet of my favourite biscuit during a film. No judging.

I was asked by one of my most avid and lovely Readers to create a Custard Cream recipe, and I decided on Cupcakes as I love and adore them, and other people seem to love them too!

IMG_3721

I used Custard Powder in my cupcakes as I wanted to have a hint of flavour there, and change the colour slightly so they don’t just look like Vanilla Cupcakes. (Not that there is anything wrong with the basic Vanilla Cupcake.. just my recipe for them out here) You can also use Custard Powder in the Frosting, but I prefer mine to be Vanilla for these!

They’re perfect for a Bake Sale, for an afternoon treat, or something to bake with your kids! Enjoy!

IMG_3734

This recipe makes 14 Cupcakes!

Ingredients

Cupcakes
– 225g Unsalted Butter
– 225g Golden Caster Sugar
– 4 Medium Eggs, beaten
– 200g Self Raising Flour
– 1/2 tsp Bicarbonate of Soda
– 100g Custard Powder (I used Birds Eye!)
– 50ml Whole Milk

Buttercream
– 200g Unsalted Butter, room temperature
– 400g Icing Sugar
– 1/2tsp Vanilla Bean Extract
– 1-3tbsp Whole Milk

Biscuits/Decoration
– Custard Creams
– Golden Oreos
– Chocolate Sprinkles

IMG_3729

Method

1) Line a Muffin Tray with 12-15 Cupcake/Muffin cases and preheat your oven to 180C/160CFan.

2) Cream together the Butter & Sugar until light and fluffy with an electric stand mixer with the paddle attachment – add the Eggs, Flour, Bicarbonate, and Custard Powder and beat again briefly so its all mixed together. It’ll be a bit thick, but this is when you add the milk and beat again till smooth!

3) Spoon into the cupcake cases evenly (about 2/3 full) and bake in the oven for 15-18 minutes until cooked through (use a skewer to test). Remove from the muffin tray and leave to cool fully on a wire rack!

4) To make the Frosting – Beat the butter till smooth and gradually add the Icing Sugar till all is in the mix. Add the milk till your desired consistency along with the Vanilla and whisk again or 3-4 minutes until light & fluffy and smooth!

5) Decorate the cupcakes with your favourite piping tip, and add the biscuits! I sprinkle mine with a couple of chocolatey sprinkles so they have some colour and a bit more crunch! 🙂

IMG_3740

Tips and Ideas

These cupcakes will last 3 days in an airtight container, and slightly longer in the fridge.

You don’t have to use custard powder in the cupcake mix, you can just use my Vanilla Cupcakes recipe – but I like the slight hint of the custard in the cupcake mix!

Custard Creams are widely available across the UK, and they’ve now introduced Golden Oreos into Asda (Unsure of other supermarkets) so buybuybuy!!

IMG_3751

ENJOY!

Find my other Cupcake Recipes on my Recipes Page!

You can find me on:
Instagram
Facebook
Pinterest
Twitter

J x

17 thoughts on “Custard Cream Cupcakes!

Leave a Reply

