Chocolate Fudge Cake 1

Chocolate Fudge Cake with the BEST Chocolate Frosting ever!

A Moist Chocolate Fudge Cake Sponge, topped & filled with The BEST Chocolate Frosting you will ever make!

IMG_3557_1

I realise saying that this contains the BEST chocolate frosting ever is quite a statement, but I honestly think it is – its so delicious! I also realised after my Facebook Requests post that I hadn’t actually posted my go-to chocolate cake recipe! My recipe for my Chocolate Orange Bundt Cake is delicious as I LOVE Chocolate Orange, and you can use it just as a Chocolate recipe – but this sponge & frosting combination is a winner.

Chocolate cake is one of those classics that you don’t want to mess with, but sometimes they can be terrible, or not chocolatey enough, or just not moist enough. I have seen over the past few months that people use Coffee or Instant Coffee in a Chocolate cake of forms to make the cake more moist and chocolatey – so I tried this! I personally cannot taste the coffee, and neither could my family – however, If you don’t like coffee, or never buy it then no worries – you can use just water, but the depth of flavour might not be the same!!

IMG_3537

The magical ingredient in the Chocolate Frosting is the Evaporated Milk – I discovered this after trawling through the internet for hours on end and found a couple of mentions that it might be better – and holy smokes it was. As you can see in the pictures its quite shiny and almost looks wet, but thats just the consistency, I like mine a little more supple than your standard buttercream!

When I posted my recipe for my Victoria Sponge – Celebration Cake I knew you all loved the classics, so I hope this suits well too!

IMG_3585

This cake serves 12-14!

Ingredients

Cake Ingredients
– 225g Dark Chocolate chopped up/chips (I used 70%)
– 225g Unsalted Butter
– 1 level tbsp Instant Coffee Granules
– 175g Plain Flour
– 25g Cocoa Powder
– 1tsp Baking Powder
– 1/4tsp Bicarbonate of Soda
– 200g Golden Caster Sugar
– 200g Light Brown Sugar
– 4 Medium Eggs (3 large)
– 75ml Buttermilk

Chocolate Frosting
– 200g Unsalted Butter, room temperature
– 600g Icing Sugar
– 50g Cocoa Powder
– 1tsp Vanilla Bean Extract
– 100ml Evaporated Milk

IMG_3548

Method

1) For the Cake – Preheat your oven to 160C/140CFan and grease & line two 8″/20cm Cake tins – leave to the side.

2) In a heatproof bowl, microwave the Dark Chocolate & Butter till melted – mine takes two minutes! Pour the Coffee Granules into 125ml Boiling Water and mix – add the coffee to the Chocolate/Butter mix and stir well till smooth!

3) In a separate large bowl add the Plain Flour, Cocoa Powder, Baking Powder, Bicarbonate of Soda, Golden Caster Sugar, and Light Brown Sugar and mix well so the ingredients are all mixed with each other well!

4) Mix the Eggs with the Buttermilk – Add the Chocolate Mix & the Egg Mix to the dry ingredients and stir together, try not to over mix it – it should be thick but runny when finished and no flour lumps!

5) Pour the mixture into the two tins and bake in the oven for 35-40 minutes (can take a little longer in some ovens) once baked leave to cool in the tin and remove afterwards

6) For the Chocolate Frosting – With an electric mixer with the whisk attachment, beat the butter until its very smooth and supple (couple of minutes) Gradually add the Icing Sugar & Cocoa Powder alternatively with the Evaporated Milk until all is incorporated and add the vanilla essence – beat for a couple of minutes so its extra smooth & creamy.

7) The more evaporated milk you add the more runny it’ll be, and I have found about 100ml is perfect for me! Decorate your cake how you like and ENJOY!

IMG_3597

Tips and Ideas

If you can’t access the Buttermilk, or you would prefer to use something else then you can use Double Cream in the cake – however it might not be as moist, but there shouldn’t be much of a difference at all! 🙂

You can also use Double Cream in the frosting, but I would 100% recommend the evaporated milk over it – it makes such a yummy frosting I would just sit and eat it all with a spoon if I could.

You can also bake this into 3 layers using 3 20cm tins – they will take 22-25 minutes in the oven! 🙂

This cake will last for 3 days in an airtight container!

IMG_3428

This picture is my lazy decoration attempt & 3 layers – still just as yum 😉

ENJOY!

Find my other Cake Recipes on my Recipes Page!

You can find me on:
Instagram
Facebook
Pinterest
Twitter

J x

20 thoughts on “Chocolate Fudge Cake with the BEST Chocolate Frosting ever!

  1. lovethelittlebakery says:

    Oh my goodness jane, another scrummy looking bake! I think it’s really interesting how you have done the frosting. I’m usually a buttercream kinda gal, and recently been experimenting with ganache. I may add this one to my list of things to try. Looks amazing! Hx

    Like

  2. heather says:

    I made this cake and cannot believe how moist and delicious it is. I brought some into work today and was told it was the best chocolate cake they had ever had by some of my colleagues and I have to agree with them. Thanks for this wonderful recipe,

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Shenaaz says:

    My My it certainly looks scrumptious, very tempted to try this recipe, have not baked in years, kids are now doing their stuff, passing it on to “MY Baker” ! Chocolate cake Lover

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jane's Patisserie says:

      I wouldn’t really advise using less sugar as thats the powder that keeps the frosting thick – if you reduce it then you risk the frosting being extremely runny? However you can probably use condensed milk, but again the consistency might be different (and it’ll be more sugary!) 🙂

      Like

    • Jane's Patisserie says:

      Did you comment “Hi can you use condensed milk instead of evaporated milk and use less sugar? If so how much sugar would you use?” The other day? 🙂 you can use condensed milk but it is more sugary, I just wouldn’t use less powdered sugar! 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

