Homemade Summer Berry Jam!

A homemade summer fruits jam – perfect for use in cakes, in a Jam Tart – or even spread on toast!

IMG_3364_1

I love Jam, and I think this is obvious as I bake cakes, and I always use it inside them, specifically my Victoria Sponge! I recently posted my recipe for my Homemade Lemon Curd and it was a hit, and it made me realise I wanted to post my recipe for Homemade Jam!

I seriously LOVE making homemade jam as you know whats in it, and its surprisingly easy – and you can make it exactly the flavour you want! Near me there are some wild Blackberry bushes so I always nab a few and nibble on them, but this inspired me to do something more useful with them! As some fruits are coming towards the end of their season I thought I would make use of it and make some Jam before time ran out!

IMG_3334IMG_3340

This recipe makes 9x 250ml Kilner Jars of Jam – and the recipe can easily be halved, or doubled (just make sure you have a big enough pan!) The combinations of Red Currants, Strawberries, Raspberries and Blackberries to me is perfection. I love summer berries, and them all mushed together – delicious.

Check out my review for Andrew James on their Jam Thermometer below!

I hope you enjoy this recipe – let me know how you get on! 🙂

IMG_3351

This makes 9x 250ml jars – 2250ml

Ingredients

– 400g Strawberries
– 300g Raspberries
– 300g Blackberries
– 200g Red Currants
– 1kg Jam/Preserving Sugar
– Juice of 2 Lemons

IMG_3360

Method

1) Sterilise your Jam Jars – either wash them in warm soapy water and then dry them out in the oven at 100C – or wash them (on their own!) in the dishwasher on the highest setting! Leave them to the side.

2) Prep your fruit – I took the tops off the strawberries and quartered/halved them depending on size, took the red currants off of their stalks, and washed all four fruits!

3) In a LARGE pan add the fruit – if you think the fruit is still a bit large then mush it down slightly with a potato masher, but this is up to you. Add the Jam Sugar and Lemon Juice and mix with a wooden spoon!

4) Turn the heat on and warm through slowly at first so that the mixture has time to mix together and the sugar have time to settle into the mixture and stir occasionally – after about 5 minutes, turn the heat up high and boil the mixture. This is when I added my Jam Thermometer – it clips onto the side of the pan so is easy to use, and has a marker at 105C of where Jam sets at!

5) Boil your mixture for 5 minutes (this is how long mine took) If you don’t have a jam thermometer thats okay, put a plate in the fridge so its cold, once the 5 minutes of constant boiling is up then put a small blob on the plate, after a few seconds it should have semi set so it wrinkles when you run your finger through it. If it reaches 105C on the Thermometer then its also ready! If it doesn’t set slightly then boil it for another 2 minutes or so!

At the same time, put your sterilised jam jars into the oven at about 100C so they are warm when the jam is poured into them!

6) Towards the end/when its finished boiling, skim off all the sediment that forms (you’ll know what I mean!) and carefully pour into the warmed Sterilised Jam Jars – it might spill everywhere so if you have a funnel then great, if not use a ladle 🙂

7) Seal the jars with the Sterilised Jam Lids when still warm and leave to cool completely – once cooled these will store for 3 months at room temperature in a cupboard (can be longer, such as up to 6 months, but mine NEVER lasts that long!) Once a jar is reopened it will last for 2 weeks in the fridge!

IMG_3368

Tips and Ideas

I think the combination of fruit that I used is perfect – as its peak berry season they produce such a lovely flavour, but you can use a different ratio of berries if you wish just make sure it sticks at 1.2kg of fruit!

You can also use Granulated Sugar to make the jam, but the Jam Sugar has the added Pectin ingredient which helps the Jam massively, and makes it last much longer in the cupboard!

IMG_3378

Andrew James Jam Thermometer Review

I was asked by Andrew James to use and review some of their basic baking equipment so my readers can see if I like them and then see if they want to buy them – all views are completely my own. 

The Jam thermometer costs £8.99 to buy from their website here or you can buy it elsewhere or as part of a bundle and it makes it cheaper – to some this may sound expensive but I would say the price is average for a the quality of the product – its really good!

When making my Jam I used it as it had the ‘Jam’ marker on the thermometer, and I also used two other thermometers to see if it matched their temperatures. At first I was a little worried it wasn’t calibrated correctly, but that was just because the part of the pan was colder (my bad!) and it matched it perfectly! So if you were looking to buy one then I give this product my approval and it makes making Jam or Sugar easier as it has all the markers you want on it! (Other Jam thermometers are available! 😉 )

IMG_3383

ENJOY!

Find my other Jam/Preserves Recipes on my Recipes Page!

You can find me on:
Instagram
Facebook
Pinterest
Twitter

J x

10 thoughts on “Homemade Summer Berry Jam!

  1. Linda says:

    I’m concerned that you aren’t processing your finished jars in a hot water bath this is quite dangerous. Unprocessed jars need to be stored in the freezer.

    Like

Leave a Reply

