Salted Caramel Nut Slice!

A buttery rich Shortbread topped with Homemade Salted Caramel, Nuts and of course a Chocolate Drizzle too!

IMG_3205_1

A while ago I posted my recipe for my Millionaires Shortbread and they were a big hit – all you guys seem to love that I don’t stinge on my portion sizes, and the addition of Maltesers (so yummy!!) and I myself have made this several times since it has been posted on here – this however led me to recreate something I once had at where I work – a Salted Caramel Nut Slice. Holy SMOKES this tastes so good!

In my books, anything Salted Caramel is good – and the hybrid of this, my millionaires shortbread, and nuts is perfection. As the cakes are bought in at where I work, I don’t 100% know how they’re made or whats in them – so I wanted to create it where I know what the ingredients are, there are no preservatives – and so I can share this beauty with you all!

IMG_3193

I know you all love Salted Caramel as my Salted Caramel Chocolate Tart recipe and my Salted Caramel Chocolate Cupcakes recipe are some of the most popular on the blog and I can understand why – they’re so yummy!

I did change a couple of things for this recipe though – the shortbread is thinner in this recipe as I wanted to increase the caramel slightly and not overload on biscuit, the caramel & nuts are so important! I seriously hope you enjoy this recipe – let me know how you get on!

IMG_3219

This makes 18 Triangles – a 9×9″ Square tray!

Ingredients

Shortbread Base
– 190g Butter, diced
– 85g Caster Sugar
– 250g Plain Flour

Caramel
– 200g Butter
– 3 Tbsp Caster Sugar
– 4 Tbsp Golden Syrup
– 1x 397g Tin Condensed Milk

Topping
– 1-2 tsps Sea Salt
– 40g Chopped Hazelnuts
– 40g Chopped Pecans
– 75g Milk Chocolate, Melted

IMG_3213

Method

1) Preheat your oven to 180C/160C Fan, and line a 9×9″ Deep Square Tin with Parchment Paper.

2) Cream together the sugar and butter until smooth and mix in the flour until a dough is formed. It will be crumbly but the ingredients will be evenly dispersed! Firmly press the mixture into the bottom of tin and bake in the oven for 18-20 minutes until pale golden on top!

3) Once baked, remove from the oven and leave to the side. In a large saucepan pour the condensed milk, butter, sugar, and golden syrup and melt on a medium heat till the sugar has dissolved – stir frequently to stop anything from catching.

4) Once the sugar has dissolved, turn the heat up high and let the mixture come to boiling point and boil for 7-8 minutes stiring pretty much constantly so that the mixture doesn’t catch. BE CAREFUL as the mixture is VERY hot and can burn you if it splashes back! The mixture will be ready when it has changed to a darker golden colour, and has thickened to a soft fudge texture!

5) Pour the caramel onto the shortbread base carefully – sprinkle with the sea salt – I make sure that all of the caramel is covered, but be sparing in specific areas so its not too concentrated! If using chunky salt crystals then you can use a bit more, but if using finely ground salt then be sparing as its a lot more concentrated! Sprinkle on the chopped nuts whilst the caramel is still hot as well so that they stick in and place the traybake into the fridge and refrigerate for 1 hour.

6) Drizzle over the melted chocolate whilst still in the tray and then refrigerate again for 2-3 hours so that its fully solidified. Remove the traybake from the tin and remove the parchment paper – cut into squares/triangles whatever – I cut mine into 9 squares, and them into triangles – perfect size!

IMG_3225

Tips and Ideas

This will keep in an airtight container for 1 week – I store mine in the fridge as its summer, but if your house is fairly cool and you prefer your caramel a bit softer, then room temperature will do!

You can easily use Dark/White Chocolate on the top, or other nuts too decorate, but this is definitely my favourite combination! If you’re using the finely ground salt then use LESS – this tends to be stronger as there is so much more of it on the spoon, as the sea salt pieces are larger!

IMG_3249

ENJOY!

Find my other Tray Bake Recipes on my Recipes Page!

You can find me on:
Instagram
Facebook
Pinterest
Twitter

J x

23 thoughts on “Salted Caramel Nut Slice!

  1. Seema says:

    You’re absolutely right Jane—caramel anything is a winner! And you can’t lose with shortbread! You’ve laid this recipe out so well, I can tell your instructions will make this recipe much easier to feel my way through. I did have one question, though. What kind of syrup do you suggest when you say “golden syrup”? Is that a maple derived syrup or some other kind? Thank you so much for such a tasty idea!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Avril says:

    These look lovely. Am going to try them tomorrow! I was toying with the idea of making a shortbread base for the cheesecake, so as I have to make the rolo cheesecake for the weekend instead of using bought biscuits this time I think I will try this shortbread recipe for the base. Have you any tips please?

    Like

Leave a Reply

