Carrot Cake!

Delicious & Moist Carrot Cake with Walnuts – Decorated with a lovely light Vanilla Buttercream and nuts!

IMG_3069_1

I love Carrot Cake. When I was little, I despised it was who on earth would want vegetables in a cake?! Little me was obviously wrong as it is DELICIOUS. I posted my recipe for my Carrot & Walnut Cupcakes a while ago and they’ve been a massive hit – they’re a big reader favourite as they’re so light and flavoursome and yumyumyum.

I was asked on my Facebook page for a whole Carrot Cake recipe as sometimes people don’t like transferring a cupcake recipe to a cake as they don’t know the baking times, or how much it’ll actually make – this led me to this beauty. I decorate mine with either Cream Cheese Frosting (which I will post at another time) or Vanilla Buttercream – as this one was made as a request of my boyfriend, we went with the Buttercream!

IMG_3109

I love this recipe as it has delicious spices from the flavours of Mixed Spice, Cinnamon and Ginger – I love this combination because it suits the light moistness of the Carrot Cake so well, but doesn’t over power it. The Vanilla from the Buttercream gives it a delightful sweetness that I think is a Cakey marriage made in heaven!

IMG_3089

This cake serves 12! 

Ingredients

Cake
– 225ml Sunflower Oil
– 4 Large Eggs
– 275g Light Brown Sugar
– 300g Grated Carrots
– 100g Raisins (Optional)
– Zest of 1 Orange
– 275g Self Raising Flour
– 1 & 1/2 tsp Bicarbonate of Soda
– 2 tsp Mixed Spice
– 1 tsp Ginger
– 1 tsp Cinnamon
– 100g Walnuts/Pecans Chopped (Optional)

Buttercream/Decoration
– 175g Butter, room temperature
– 450g Icing Sugar
– 1tsp Vanilla Bean Extract
– 1-3tbsp Whole Milk
– Chopped Nuts

IMG_3098

Method

1)  Preheat your oven to 180C/160C Fan and Grease & line two 8″ Cake tins with Parchment Paper!

2) Pour the Sunflower Oil & Eggs into a large bowl and add the sugar – mix lightly and combine. Add the Grated Carrots & Raisins if using, and Orange Zest and fold through to combine.

3) Add the Flour, Bicarbonate, Mixed Spice, Ginger, & Cinnamon and mix again – try not to over mix! Once combined, fold through the Nuts and pour into the prepared tins!

4) Bake the Cakes in the Oven for 30-35 minutes until cooked through (test with a cake tester, should be clean!) and leave to cool in the tin.

5) Once cooled, make the buttercream – Beat the butter for a couple of minutes so its very smooth in a Stand Mixer with the Whisk Attachment – Gradually add the Icing Sugar until all combined and beat on a high speed for a couple of minutes. Once mixed, add the Vanilla Bean Extract and mix again.

6) Whilst mixing, gradually add the Milk till you reach your desired consistency! 🙂 Whisk for another 5 minutes so its super light and fluffy! 🙂

7) Place one of your sponges onto the plate you’re using, spread half of the buttercream on top, add the other sponge, and spread the rest of the buttercream on – decorate how you like! 🙂

IMG_3067

Tips and Ideas

I prefer my Carrot Cake with just buttercream in-between and on top of the layers, but there is enough buttercream to spread it around the edges slightly too 🙂

You don’t have to include the nuts, or the raisins, but I would recommend using at least one of them as the flavour is so delicious!

This cake will last 4 days covered at room temperature!

IMG_3122

ENJOY!

You can find my other Cake Recipes on my Recipes Page!

You can find me on:
Instagram
Facebook
Pinterest
Twitter

J x

17 thoughts on “Carrot Cake!

Leave a Reply

