Lemon Celebration Cake!

A moist & Lemony Sponge filled with a dash of Lemon Curd, and a Luscious Lemon Buttercream!

IMG_2737_1

After posting the recipe for my Victoria Sponge – Celebration Cake I figured it would be deliciously yummy if I experimented on this and produced different flavours! When I asked on my Facebook page recently if anyone had any suggestions I received the suggestion of a Lemon Drizzle Cake – and I adore lemon drizzle cake – but I decided to do a variation on this for a bit more of a show! (Don’t worry though, I will post my Drizzle cake recipe soon also!)

This cake ended up being a hybrid of a Lemon Drizzle, and a Victoria Sponge – and its delicious. I posted my recipe for my Lemon & Poppyseed Cake a while ago and had a big success with that one, so I hope you guys like this too!

IMG_2719

Unlike my Victoria Sponge I decided to keep this as a 2 layer cake so that its easier for others to make if they only have two tins, and its easier to bake too anyway! The Drizzle aspect of this cake makes the sponge SO moist and utterly scrummy, and the buttercream gives it the light sweetness that is often craved with cake – delicious.

IMG_2753

This cake serves 12!

Ingredients

Cake
– 250g Butter
– 250g Caster Sugar + 75g Extra
– 5 Eggs
– 250g Self-Raising Flour
– Grated Zest of 2 Lemons
– 75ml Lemon Juice (roughly 1 lemons – doesn’t have to be exact!)

Decoration
– 2tbsp Lemon Curd
– 125g Unsalted Butter, at Room Temperature
– 400g Icing Sugar + Extra for Dusting
– 2Tbsp Lemon Juice

IMG_2724

Method

1) To Bake the Cakes – Grease & Line two 8″/20cm Deep Cake Tins and Preheat your oven to 180C/160C Fan!

2) With a Stand Mixer using the Paddle Attachment, beat together the Butter & 250g Caster Sugar until smooth – this will take a couples of minutes! Once combined add the Flour, Eggs, and Lemon Zest and beat until combined – try not to over beat however!

3) Pour the mixture evenly into the two tins and bake in the oven for 25 minutes or until a skewer comes out clean! Once baked through, leave IN the tins once removed from the oven!

4) Once the sponges are out of the oven, mix the 75g Caster Sugar with the 75ml Lemon Juice until smooth and drizzle over the tops of the cakes – its not too much, so try and distribute it evenly between both sponges!

5) Once drizzled on, leave the cakes to cool completely and then remove from the tin!

6) To Decorate the Cake – Beat the Butter for a couple of minutes using the whisk attachment in a stand mixer – doing this will make it nice and smooth to add the sugar! Once smooth, start gradually adding the icing sugar until its all in, and add the lemon juice – beat for about 5 minutes on a  medium-high speed until super light and whipped!

7) Spread the 2 tablespoons of Lemon Curd onto one of the cakes, and then spread the Buttercream on top, and then place the other on top – sprinkle with Icing Sugar and serve! ENJOY!

IMG_2757

Tips and Ideas

This cake will last in an airtight container for 3-4 days – probably longer as it has so much moisture! I keep mine at room temperature, but sometimes I will keep it in the fridge if I am making it ahead of a party for example!

The layers are thick so if you wanted a more raised cake simply slice the two sponges in to two and have a 4 layer cake! 🙂

IMG_2767

Enjoy!!

You can find my other Cake & Lemony Recipes on my Recipes Page!

You can find me on:
Instagram
Facebook
Pinterest
Twitter

J x

31 thoughts on “Lemon Celebration Cake!

  1. Claire | Art and Soul says:

    Lovely! A nerdy question: do you use lined sandwich tins or springform tins? I ask because I recently made a sandwich cake and the edges were rather irregular thanks to the folds in the baking paper around the rim of the tin. Your cakes have such lovely smooth sides – are you just brilliant at lining tins and I’m doing it wrong? 🙂

    SO excited about Bake Off being back tonight! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jane's Patisserie says:

      Thank you! I tend to use just a circle of parchment on the bottom for like a victoria sponge as they tend to peel away from the edges themselves – but with some cakes I will make a separate strip the depth of the tin and wrap it round that way so its flat against the sides! And I 95% of the time use a springform so its easier anyway! 🙂 (If that makes any sense…)
      And ME TOO! 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  2. eibhlsbakes says:

    This couldn’t have come at a better time! My friend has requested a lemony cake for her birthday on Saturday. I’m looking forward to giving this one a go! (ps. Joining in with the Bake Off excitement too!)

    Liked by 1 person

  3. eibhlsbakes says:

    I made this yesterday for my friend. I *may* have added limoncello to the syrup and the butterceam… It went down well at the party. Thanks for the recipe! (now to find more recipes to use up all the lemon curd I made!)

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

