Individual Chocolate Mousse Puddings!

Individual Light yet Rich Chocolate Mousse Puddings – super easy to make, and perfect for a dinner party or a simple treat!

IMG_1014_1

After the astounding success of my Individual Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Desserts I thought I would produce another deliciously yummy individual dessert – Hello Chocolate Mousse! Seriously, they are so yummy and moreish I struggle to eat only one. They are rich, but I find them just the right amount of ‘lightness’ to not be too heavy and sickly!

I love using little Kilner Jars such as in my White Chocolate Vanilla Panna Cottas for puddings, and they seemed perfect for this! If you are patient enough to melt the chocolate mix carefully, and wait for the mousse to set in the jars, you will LOVE these! I made mine for a dinner party I was hosting and they were a astounding success so you have no worries on that front!

IMG_0966

Most Chocolate Mousse recipes I have found use raw eggs inside, or Gelatine – and as much as they are all delicious too, I wanted to make one that used neither of these so that its far much less of a faff then other recipes! I based my recipe from a Nigella recipe I came across! If your mix of the recipe ends up really runny, do not fear, it will still set! (I have tried it when its as thick as meringue, and runny as water, and they both set and are both delicious!)

IMG_0984

This recipe makes 6 good sized desserts!

Ingredients

The Mousse
– 250g Dark Chocolate Chips/Chopped
– 50g Butter (I used salted)
– 150g Mini Marshmallows
– 60ml Hot Water
– 300ml Double Cream
– 1tsp Vanilla Bean Extract
– 100g Icing Sugar

To Decorate
– Whipped Cream
– Chocolate Shavings

IMG_0999

Method

1) In a heavy based saucepan pour the chocolate, butter, mini marshmallows, and hot water – melt on a very low heat until all the ingredients have melted. Stir it occasionally so that the bottom doesn’t catch, but keep an eye on it!

2) Once the chocolate mix has melted, whip the double cream, vanilla, and icing sugar up until very thick peaks – it will hold itself. Be careful not to over whip however!

3) Fold the two mixes together until smooth and completely combined – pour into individual containers and leave to set in the fridge. Depending on your fridge, how hot the mix is, etc, it could take 30 minutes or a few hours – so if your mix is particularly runny it will still set, it might just take longer! 🙂

4) Decorate with a bit of extra whipped cream & some chocolate shavings and enjoy!

IMG_1008

Tips and Ideas

My favourite type of chocolate is Milk Chocolate, but as this mix has the marshmallows, vanilla, and sugar in, I love using the Dark Chocolate as it makes it super creamy yet sweet enough!

You have to be patient when making this as you don’t want the heat too high – it might make the chocolate split so make sure you’re not too eager for the delicious chocolatey dessert!

These desserts will last in the fridge for 4-5 days if Covered!

IMG_1021

ENJOY!

P.s. Super Chocolatey Decadent Desserts – eat them all yourself.

Find my other Dessert recipes on my Recipes Page!

You can find me on:
Instagram
Facebook
Pinterest
Twitter

IMG_8905

J x

22 thoughts on “Individual Chocolate Mousse Puddings!

Leave a Reply

