Speculoos Cookie Butter Cupcakes!

Vanilla Cupcakes topped with a delicious Speculoos Cookie Butter Buttercream, and decorated with even more biscuits – scrumptious!

IMG_0734_1

I have previously put up a recipe for a No-Bake Speculoos Cookie Butter Cheesecake, which went down an absolute hit. Seriously, its so yummy you will love it! However this lend on to me wanting a cake version of it, and cupcakes seemed ideal! I used a simple Vanilla Cupcake as the base of my cupcakes, and its the perfect combination. The Cookie Butter Buttercream is deliciously light and moussey even though it has the addition of the cookie butter itself!

These were an insanely good hit with my Mum’s work Colleagues, like they disappeared out of the tin in less than 2 minutes – Apparently I have become an almost celebrity where she works due to her bringing in my baked goods all the time! But anyway…

IMG_0716

If you are a Cookie lover, you will love these.

If you are a Cookie Butter lover, you will love these.

If you are a Cupcake lover, you will love these.

I think you get the picture, enjoy!

IMG_0718

This recipe makes 12-14 cupcakes

Ingredients

Vanilla Cupcakes
– 200g butter/margarine
– 200g caster sugar
– 3 large free range eggs
– 200g self raising flour
– 1-2 tsp vanilla
– 1-2 tbsp whole milk

Speculoos Cookie Butter Buttercream
– 200g butter
– 600g icing sugar
– 150g Speculoos/Biscoff Cookie Butter
– 60ml whole milk – if needed

IMG_0725

Method

1) To make the Cupcakes – Heat your oven to 180C/160 Fan/350F and line a cupcake/muffin tin with 12-14 cases

2) Beat the butter/margerine with the caster sugar until fluffy – Combine the eggs, self-raising flour and vanilla with the butter/sugar mix until well combined

3) If the mixture is too stiff you can add a little bit of milk at a time to get a smooth light consistency.

4) Using an ice-cream scoop (to make it the same amount per cupcake) dollop into the cupcake cases – Bake in the oven for 15-18 minutes or until a skewer poked into one of the cakes comes out clean and they are springy to touch – Leave to cool.

5) To make the Cookie Butter Buttercream – Beat the butter with an electric mixer for a couple of minutes to loosen it – Gradually add the icing sugar on a slow speed until it is combined then speed the mixer up and mix for 3-4 minutes until thoroughly combined and smooth.

6) Add the Cookie Butter to the buttercream and continue mixing, and gradually add the milk until you reach the desired texture – I usually add it all! Keep on beating for 5 minutes until whipped!

7) To decorate the Cupcakes – I use a 1M/Large star tip for my cupcakes, and pipe the buttercream onto the cupcakes – Sprinkle on some crushed biscuits and anything else you like! I use a whole Lotus biscuit too for even more crunch!

IMG_0730

Tips and Ideas

I have used this Vanilla Cupcake recipe for a few of my cupcakes on here, and the same rules still apply of being careful not to over bake the cakes or you might lose the light texture!

I love the taste of cookie butter, but have been told that if you bake it, it looses its taste which is why I put my buttercream onto a Vanilla Cupcake! 🙂

I love buttercream, especially this buttercream, but if you want less you can easily half the recipe and it’ll still cover all the cupcakes!

IMG_0738

Enjoy!!

P.S. If you love cookie butter, you will LOVE these!

Find my other Cupcake & Buttercream recipes on my Recipes Page!

You can find me on:
Instagram
Facebook
Pinterest
Twitter

IMG_8905

J x

20 thoughts on “Speculoos Cookie Butter Cupcakes!

  1. bunny and mimsey says:

    Oh dear Jane! you will kill me with cake! These little cakes with Speculoos buttecream look to die for – but so much butter!!! OMG – works out to over 1oz per cupcake.
    You’re young and skinny so weight is obviously not not an issue, but what about general health? I was taken aback by how much butter is in this recipe, makes them into a very indulgent and very occasional treat for me.
    Sigh. Mimsey

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jane's Patisserie says:

      the amount of butter is purely that there is a lot of buttercream per cupcake, its easily halved but with these I love a lot of buttercream! 🙂 I don’t eat cake every day so I like to treat myself haha 🙂 x

      Like

Leave a Reply

