Peppermint Truffles!

Deliciously Minty Chocolate Truffles with a crunch of Oreo inside – perfect for Wedding Favours, Afternoon Treats, Birthdays, or just because!

IMG_0650_1

I have been asked to cater the desserts/cake for a wedding and one of the requests was truffles – queue perfect reason to experiment with all flavour you can think of, even if they weren’t the ones requested! I love to experiment, and then taste taste. Who wouldn’t?!

There is a generally easy rule of truffles, 100g cream + 200g chocolate = truffle, so I thought that I could develop this into a deliciously minty Peppermint Truffle. I like my truffles with a bit of crunch however so I thought the addition of Oreo’s to the recipe would be perfect as I am a MASSIVE fan, but it is entirely up to you which biscuit you add. Probably makes more sense to add a minty biscuit, but the normal Oreo’s worked perfectly!

IMG_0676

I researched into recipes for Mint Truffles and found a BBC one here – but I felt that the peppermint wasn’t enough for me, hence why I have added a lot more. The good thing about truffles is that they can be so versatile from the same original recipe, some use butter, which many of my other Truffle recipes have, but I wanted to try some without, and HUZZAH they are delicious also!

If you find that your truffles split it might be because of a smaller amount of cocoa solids in the chocolate, or it was far too hot! If you do I have read that sometimes adding 1tbsp boiling water will bring it back, but just be careful that when adding the chocolate to the cream, it is OFF the heat! I hope you guys like this recipe as much as I do!

IMG_0655

This recipe makes 20 truffles! 

Ingredients

Truffle Ingredients
– 100ml Double Cream
– 200g Milk Chocolate, chopped
– 1/2tbsp Peppermint Essence
– 1/2 1x 154g pack Oreos, chopped finely

Decoration
– 175g Milk Chocolate, chopped
– 50g White Chocolate
– Food Colouring

IMG_0654

Method

1) Heat the cream to boiling point in a pan, when it starts boiling turn off the heat and pour in the chocolate – stir in the chocolate until it is fully melted.

2) Pour in the peppermint essence and finely chopped Oreo’s and mix thoroughly. Pour into a container and cover – refrigerate for 2-3 hours or overnight.

3) When ready to shape, I use a Meat-Baller (sold at most stores) because I like slightly larger truffles, but you can use spoons or a melon baller for smaller truffles. Use a cup of boiling water to clean the Meat/Melon baller of any excess truffle mix, the heat will help the truffles leave the baller more easily too! Roll the mix into balls and leave on a lined tray – when all the mix has been shaped, freeze the mix for an hour so that they are very firm.

4) Melt the milk chocolate for decoration (I used 275g worth) and cover the truffles in chocolate, leave to cool and set in the fridge. Melt the White chocolate and mix in whatever food colouring you like – I used pink as it was for a birthday! Drizzle over the truffles and leave to set fully! Enjoy!

IMG_0670

Tips and Ideas

I freeze my truffles for about an hour as it cools them down and makes them incredibly firm – this makes it easier to coat them in chocolate as they are less likely to melt!

You also don’t have to use the Oreos at all, or you can swap it for a different biscuit, but I like the crunch of the truffles, and I feel like it sets better!

IMG_0675

Enjoy!!

P.S. They’re minty and fresh, yet a delicious treat!

Find my other Truffle recipes on my Recipes Page!

You can find me on:
Instagram
Facebook
Pinterest
Twitter

IMG_8905

J x

21 thoughts on “Peppermint Truffles!

  1. The Culinary Jumble says:

    Oh, how gorgeous! Can I ask – do you ever make any low-fat, healthier treats? Not that I don’t drool over everything you make – I love them – but would be curious to see what you could come up with that was lower fat/sugar!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Sharon-Elaine says:

    Thank you so much for this recipe! Yesterday I gave it a try, but used 70% cocoa dark chocolate for the centres, mixed with crushed digestives and flavoured with Valencian orange. I coated the truffles with milk chocolate, and decorated with white chocolate with a hint of orange colouring. They were amazing! I took some to work and they went down a treat, and the boyfriend loves them too. I’ve just mixed a batch with peppermint flavouring ready to finish tomorrow for my mum’s birthday, I’m sure she’s going to love them too! Thanks again!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

