Salted Caramel Chocolate Cupcakes!

Deliciously Light Chocolate Cupcakes topped with a Silky Smooth Caramel Buttercream with a Caramel Drizzle!

IMG_0476_1

These cupcakes are something that I have been wanting to post for a good while, but haven’t baked them in so long its silly! I had a request for some for a birthday so I thought it was the perfect opportunity! They are so deliciously light that you won’t even feel guilty about having one! Or two.. Three maybe?

This is my standard Chocolate Cupcake recipe that I use ALL of the time – No matter what icing it is topped with, I just adore how light and moist these cupcakes are! And they are so simple to make! The Caramel Buttercream is inspired by the fact that I have an utter obsession with Caramel, especially Salted Caramel. I honestly can’t even explain why to my family – other than the salt takes away the overly sweet caramellyness to make the perfect flavour!

IMG_0474

The idea of having to give cupcakes away without eating any is torturous, so I always bake a couple of extra to enjoy myself! However, these are so utterly light and delicious, I always want more anyway! The Buttercream has the perfect ratio of Caramel to Buttercream so that you get the hint of caramel without it being overpowering, but the drizzle on top give it a sweet kick to combat the salt! The perfect combination!

IMG_0501

This recipe make 12-14 cupcakes!

Ingredients

Cupcakes
– 220g Butter
– 220g Caster Sugar
– 4 Eggs
– 150g Self Raising Flour
– 50g Cocoa Powder
– 1-3tbsp Whole Milk

Buttercream
– 200g Butter
– 650g Icing Sugar
– 75g Caramel/Dulce de Leche
– 75ml Whole Milk
– Pinch of Sea Salt

Decoration
– Caramel/Dulce de Leche
– Chocolate Sprinkles

IMG_0475

Method

1) To make the Cupcakes – Heat your oven to 180C/160 Fan/350F and line a cupcake/muffin tin with 12 cases

2) Beat the butter/margerine with the caster sugar until fluffy – Combine the eggs, self-raising flour and cocoa powder with the butter/sugar mix until well combined

3) If the mixture is too stiff you can add a little bit of milk at a time to get a smooth light consistency.

4) Bake in the oven for 15-20 minutes or until a skewer poked into one of the cakes comes out clean and they are springy to touch – Leave to cool.

5) To make the Caramel Buttercream – Beat the butter with an electric mixer for a couple of minutes to loosen it – Gradually add the icing sugar on a slow speed until it is combined then speed the mixer up and mix for 3-4 minutes until thoroughly combined and smooth.

6) Add the caramel to the buttercream and continue mixing, and gradually add the milk until you reach the desired texture – I usually add it all! Keep on beating for 5 minutes until whipped!

7) To decorate the Cupcakes – I use a 1M/Large star tip for my cupcakes, and pipe the buttercream onto the cupcakes – drizzled with some extra caramel and some chocolate sprinkles for a bit of crunch!

IMG_0477

Tips and Ideas

I always tend to mix my butter and caster sugar first even if the recipe says the all in one method – I find it makes it smoother and more likely to be light and soft!

Be careful not to over bake the cakes or you might lose the light texture!

The Icing is based on a recipe from Hummingbird Bakery, and the chocolate cupcake recipe is already up on my blog here – Chocolate Cupcakes.

IMG_0479

Enjoy!!

Find my other Cupcake & Buttercream recipes on my Recipes Page!

You can find me on:
Instagram
Facebook
Pinterest
Twitter

IMG_8905

J x

20 thoughts on “Salted Caramel Chocolate Cupcakes!

Leave a Reply

