Cheese Scones!

Delicious soft and light Cheese Scones, packed full of flavour, and perfect for an Afternoon Treat!

IMG_0126_1

Now, I am a true fan of all things Scone. I love fruity ones, plain ones, chocolatey ones are definitely CHEESE scones! Seriously though, cheese is one of my favourite things on the planet – I struggle not to eat it every day (please don’t find that gross, I don’t mean it that way!)

This recipe is so light and fluffy, yet packed full of mature cheese – the ultimate in flavouring for something so delicate! I serve my scones either slapped with butter, an extra sprinkling of cheese, (my boyfriend has them with Marmite, but just no. Eww.) or even on the side of a soup! They are the perfect accompaniment to a casserole, and I top mine with them as a sort of dumpling!

IMG_0120

I use a mix of two cheeses in my scones as I love the salty flavour of the parmesan, but the cheddar is the easiest and most used cheese in my house so there is always some spare to bake scones with!

When at a Tea-Rooms but not quite in the mood for something sweet, especially if I have already had cake for breakfast, I find the perfect treat is a freshly baked Cheese Scone. They are not to heavy on the stomach, and are a real pleasure to eat – Not the healthiest of treats however. You can try using reduced fat cheese, but I don’t bother, its all or nothing for me with these!

IMG_0074

This recipe makes 10, 4cm scones!

Ingredients

– 300g Self-Raising Flour, plus extra for dusting
– 60g Butter, diced
– 1/2 tsp Mustard Powder
– 1/2 tsp Cayenne Pepper
– 1/4 tsp Salt
– 100g Mature Cheddar Cheese, grated
– 25g Parmesan Cheese, finely grated
– 150ml whole milk

Also required
– Extra grated cheese
– Milk
– 4cm cutter

IMG_0131

Method

1) Heat the oven to 220C/210C Fan/Gas mark 7 and line a baking tray(s) – place tray in the oven to start heating with the oven!

2) Mix together the flour, butter, mustard powder, cayenne pepper, and salt – rub together until the butter has essentially disappeared and the texture of all the mixture is like breadcrumbs – alternatively, put all of the same ingredients into a food processor and mix until the breadcrumbs texture is created!

3) Mix in the grated cheese, and then pour in 75% of the milk – stir with a spatula until combined into a slightly sticky dough – if it is too dry, then continue to add the rest of the milk until it is ideal.

4) Tip the dough out onto a lightly floured work surface and pat down with your hand till it is about 3-4cm deep. Remove the trays from the oven, carefully. Using a 4cm round cutter, cut out the scones and place on the baking tray – knead the dough slightly to combine it all again, flatten, and cut the scones out – repeat until all the dough has been used!

5) Brush the scones with a bit of milk, and sprinkle with some cheese – bake in the oven for 10-15 minutes. Move to a wire rack and leave to cool slightly!

6) These are best eaten when still warm out of the oven, or on the day of baking – I usually microwave mine to warm again, or flash back in the oven to revive them the day after baking!

IMG_0134

Tips and Ideas

Serve at breakfast for a lazy day, or on the side of a delicious bowl of homemade soup – they will suit the side of any dish perfectly.

You can change up the cheeses you use, but try and stick to hard cheeses – a ‘wet’ cheese won’t work as well as it’ll change the amount of moisture in the dough. You can also change the spices used in the recipe, I love the slight hint of the mustard powder (even though I am not a mustard fan) and the cayenne pepper gives a wonderfully slight kick!

IMG_0137

ENJOY!

P.s. Something that isn’t sweet, or containing chocolate?! SHOCK! (Seriously though, they’re delish.)

You can find me on:
Instagram
Facebook
Pinterest
Twitter

IMG_8905

J x

34 thoughts on “Cheese Scones!

  1. Pistachios says:

    Haha “…already had cake for breakfast” – I like how you kind of just slipped that in there! I also like eating cake at breakfast 😀

    As for these scones, I assume they taste best straight out of the oven, but can you also do a big batch and keep them for a couple of days?

    Liked by 1 person

  2. thedementedfairy says:

    I love cheese scones- and as for most basic baking, I always use the Be-Ro book recipe. Gorgeous. Also a fan of the casserole-topped-with-scones thing, I always called it a ‘cobbler’. Nom nom nom, might go make some scones now…

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Kaylene says:

    This recipe is one I use, I also use other ingredients. Even had left over mashed potatoes and sausages cut up small made into scones. Bacon and cheese goes down well too! Love your photo;s! Yum!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

