No-Bake Caramel Rolo Cheesecake!

Caramel creamy cheesecake filling on top of a delicious buttery biscuit base drizzled with an extra bit of caramel and packed full of Rolo’s – A delicious dessert perfect for every occasion!

IMG_2832_1

As it is back to school/work after the Easter break I thought that I would create the perfect pick-me-up for the week – this deliciously indulgent No-Bake Cheesecake. It is seriously SO YUMMY. I have made a few No-Bake cheesecakes in my time now, as well as a scrumptious baked one, all of which can be found on my Recipes page – Here.

However, this is different in the sense that it isn’t based around chocolate for once – its delectably Caramel instead! Don’t get me wrong, I LOVE all cheesecake, especially the ones already on this blog, but I craved something different! I have also been having a Rolo craving a lot recently, which you might start to notice if you follow all of my posts!

IMG_0012

No-Bake cheesecake’s are always easier to make than Baked Cheesecakes as its so much easier to prepare, you can do it well in advance of when you need/want the cheesecake, and they are so creamy and fluffy and delicious. This cheesecake has a lot of filling as I love it so much, but if you want to have a smaller one, then simply half the cheesecake filling ingredients!

This Cheesecake is so incredibly easy to make – simply crush the biscuits you want to use on the bottom and mix with the melted butter, leave to set whilst you make the rest. Cream together the cream cheese, vanilla, caramel, and sugar in an electric mixer to make sure its all combined well, then add the cream. Whisking until it creates a thick mousse like texture, adding in the chopped Rolo’s, and spreading over the scrummy biscuit base. SO EASY, and utterly delicious.

IMG_2843

This recipe makes an 8″/20cm cheesecake – serves 12-15

Ingredients

Biscuit Base
– 150g Digestives
– 150g Golden Oreos/Vanilla Crunch biscuits
– 125g butter, melted

Cheesecake Filling
– 500g cream cheese, I used 250g mascarpone, 250g Philadelphia
– 1 tsp vanilla bean extract
– 100g icing sugar
– 150g caramel – I use Carnations Caramel
– 300ml double cream
– 175g Rolo sweets, chopped up

Decorations
– Caramel drizzle
– Rolo sweets
– Whipped vanilla cream

IMG_2849

Method

1) Blitz the biscuits in a food processor (or break up in another way, I am just lazy..) and mix the biscuits with the melted butter. Spread on the bottom of the cake tin and press down firmly. Leave to set in the fridge whilst you make the rest!

2) Using an electric mixer, I use my KitchenAid with the whisk attachment, whisk together the cream cheeses, vanilla, icing sugar and caramel until smooth and lump free – this could take 30 seconds or so, I whisk it at a medium speed (level 6/10).

3) Pour into the mix the double cream and continue to whisk for a couple of minutes until its very thick and mousse like (I mix it on a medium-high speed, level 6/10) – Now this could take up to 3-4 minutes depending on your mixer, but you seriously have to stick at it – it will hold itself completely when finished mixing (like a meringue does!) If you don’t mix it enough it will not set well enough!

4) Chop the Rolos up into quarters and fold through the cheesecake filling. Spread over the biscuit base and leave to set in the fridge for 5-6 hours, or preferably overnight.

5) To decorate the cheesecake, top with a drizzle of caramel and whip up some spare cream with a touch of vanilla and pipe around the edge – sprinkle on some Rolo’s and chocolate pieces.

IMG_2867

Tips and Ideas

As I said in the ingredients list, I used half mascarpone and half Philadelphia for the cream cheese – this is because I find that the mascarpone lightens it slightly and gives it a much creamier taste! However you could easily make this cheesecake with 500g of all Philadelphia for example, or whatever cream cheese you like! You just have to make sure that it is Full-Fat cream cheese so you know its going to set!

I always set my cheesecakes in the fridge overnight otherwise they risk being a little runny still and slipping off the biscuit base but if you want to risk it then go for it! If you think its not setting, 99% of the time its because you didnt whip it enough! 🙂

I also love using a mix of biscuits on the base, I often use Foxs Golden Crunch Creams (not sure if they’re available elsewhere) but you could easily substitute them for Golden Oreos of any other biscuit you want!

IMG_0615

Above is my Caramel Cheesecake mixture after I have finished whipping – you can see that when I lift the whisk out of the mix, it holds itself!

I have noted from comments from my followers that sometimes the mixture splits – this might be because you have mixed it for far far too long, once it reaches the stage above you should stop as it can’t thicken any further! 🙂 Also, I seriously recommend a Stand Mixer, or a Handheld Mixer on a medium-high speed! 🙂 Mixers such as Handheld Blenders won’t work once you add the cream, it’ll curdle it! 🙂

IMG_2871

ENJOY!

P.s. Its Carameleescakey goodness!!

Find my other Cheesecake recipes on my Recipes Page!

You can find me on:
Instagram
Facebook
Pinterest
Twitter

J x

155 thoughts on “No-Bake Caramel Rolo Cheesecake!

  1. Charlotte says:

    Hello, I’m making this tonight for my Mum’s birthday tomorrow. I don’t have an electric whisk though, only a handheld manual one. Will this still work? Do you think I should put gelatin in?

    Like

    • Jane's Patisserie says:

      I don’t think it’ll work without one I’m afraid – you could whisk it up as best as possible, but it won’t get to the thickness to hold itself, so you’ll have to put it I a dessert dish 🙂 or if you can work out how to put the Gelatin in to make it work then definitely try!

      Like

    • Jane's Patisserie says:

      You can use google to translate the amounts to cups if you like – and digestives are biscuits, you can use such things as graham crackers instead! 🙂 (Sorry its not in cup measurements, but I find cups so unreliable! I’d recommend investing in an electric scale so it’ll be easier!)

      Like

    • Jane's Patisserie says:

      What country do you live in? 🙂 Caranation is a brand that sells condensed milk, evaporated milk, Caramel, and Chocolate sauces – I use the Carnations Caramel (But as it says you can also use dulce de leche) and Double cream is double cream? It depends where you’re from what the equivalent is! 🙂

      Like

    • Nickie says:

      Hi, not sure where you are from, but double cream is similar to heavy or whipping cream in the states (double cream has a higher fat content and is not heat treated in the same way). For the caramel use dulce de leche 🙂 Hope this helps.

      Like

  2. Pat says:

    I made this for my nieces birthday..it was so good!! I used biscuits I made myself ( I’m coeliac and sometimes I have the odd disaster- I blitz and freeze them to use for cheesecake bases- I hate waste!). It was devoured in minutes!! I got the scraps at the end! Thank you so much for your lovely recipes..going to try the toblerone one one next!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. charline17Charline says:

    Hello Jane Thank you for the awesome recipe. I actually tried it twice, because the first time round it didn’t set well because I used fresh cream instead of double cream as I couldn’t find it at my local store. I then noticed that the filling was quite soft and I knew instantly that this was because of the cream. The second time round I researched where they sold double cream and I found it and used it and my cheese cake, came out super awesome. Thank you

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Sarah Hunt says:

    If using Oreo biscuits, or Foxes golden crunch, do you use the cream filling of the biscuit as well for the base or do you scrape this out of the biscuit!!!

    Like

    • Jane's Patisserie says:

      I’m sorry but I don’t do measurements in cups as I find it an unreliable method – but you can try and convert them online! 😊 and I really recommend investing in an electric scale (they’re not too expensive) as they can convert for you 😊

      Like

  5. Kate says:

    Hi Jane

    Trying this tonight just had a little thought, I have quite deep 3″ PME cake tins and wondered how you suggest getting the cheesecake out after its all set and finished.
    Thank you love your blog it’s so lovely!

    Like

Leave a Reply

