Victoria Sponge – Celebration Cake!

IMG_9591

Strawberry seasons isn’t quiiiite here yet, but I bought a packet anyway and they were surprisingly tasty! This led me to think I should 100% do something with them, but definitely not overtone them – so I thought I would bake a classic – funnily enough it is one of the simplest and yet most delicious classic cakes around.

When I was younger I used to think that this type of cake was icky and boring and why would I want it as its not Chocolate? But – I was completely wrong. This cake is SO GOOD and one of the best cakes in the world. However, sometimes the simplest of things can be the most difficult to get absolutely perfect!

I find that with Victoria Sponges its all about getting everything perfectly in proportion – such as if you’re making a two layered cake, everything should be 200g (i.e. the sugar, flour, butter and eggs) and same for if you were doing a larger cake – everything should be 400g! It makes it far simpler and generally provides a foolproof cake.

IMG_9600

I weigh out my eggs when making a cake like this so I know that its going to work, and once you know your oven well enough you will know when is the perfect time to take the cake out of the oven and when it might need a smidgen longer in the oven!

This cake can often be served with fresh fruit and whipped cream, or jam and buttercream – its entirely up to you! But when I am making it last a bit longer, I use buttercream so that it stays fresh for longer, whereas the cream may go a bit icky, especially on a hot day!I also have a slight issue where my Dad hates raspberry jam with a passion (no idea why…) so I always make mine with strawberry jam!

IMG_9608

This recipe makes a 3-layer cake – serves 12-15. 
Recipe easily halved for a two layer cake!

Ingredients

Cake
– 400g butter, softened
– 400g caster sugar
– 400g eggs (roughly 8 eggs)
– 400g self raising flour
– 2 tsp baking powder
– 4 tbsp whole milk

Filling/Decor
– 150g butter
– 450g icing sugar
– 1/2 tsp vanilla
– 1-3 tbsp whole milk (if needed)
– 1/2 jar strawberry/raspberry jam (350g jar)
– Extra sprinkling icing sugar to finish
– Fresh strawberries

IMG_9598

Method

1) For the cake – Heat the oven to 190C/170C Fan and line three 20cm/8inch sandwich cake tins with baking parchment

2) In a large bowl beat together all of the cake ingredients to a smooth and soft cake batter

3) Divide the mixture between the two tins and smooth it over – bake for 25 minutes until the cake is golden and when the cake springs back (skewer should also come out clean) Turn onto a cooling rack and leave to cool.

4) For the buttercream – beat the butter with an electric mixer until it is smooth and loose and then beat in the icing sugar & vanilla gradually. If the icing is too stiff then add the milk gradually to get your desired thickness!

IMG_9547

5) To decorate – Spread the butter cream over the top of one of the sponges, then spoon half of the jam into the middle – place the second sponge on top and repeat the process – finish with the third sponge.

6) Sprinkle it with icing sugar and serve!

Tips and Ideas

For a smaller cake – simply half all of the cake ingredients, split the mixture into two tins, and bake for 20 minutes!

When decorating the cake I like to pipe a small amount of the buttercream around the edge of the sponges, then put a little more in the middle with the jam on top – this stops it falling out all over the place, but this is simply my choice! 🙂

IMG_9548

Keep the cake in an airtight container and eat within 3 days (if it lasts that long)

IMG_9559

ENJOY!

P.s. Classics are the best bakes ever.

You can find me on:
Instagram
Facebook
Pinterest
Twitter

IMG_8905

J x

38 thoughts on “Victoria Sponge – Celebration Cake!

  1. Renee's Bistro says:

    While looking at this and seeing on the snow here on the ground, I was thinking that strawberry season is still months away. But on the other hand I enjoy looking at your beautiful cake knowing that “real ” spring will be coming eventually and then I could try to make your beautiful cake!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Heidie says:

    Hi Janes! This cake looks so pretty and delicious, I wish it was summer already here in Finland, I got to try this one out one day! 🙂 Love xoxo Heidie

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

