Berry Bakewell Cake!

IMG_9222

A couple of weeks ago I posted the recipe I use for my Bakewell Tart – I adore Bakewell Tart and its the perfect dessert for a summery evening but I had a thought, sometimes using pastry, or even just making the pastry is effort and I can’t be dealing with that when I am in a rush. Therefore, the Bakewell Cake was born!

IMG_9223 (1)

You can use whatever berry you like really in this – Raspberry is the classic but I have made this cake with all blackberries, all blueberries, all raspberries, etc etc! It is entirely your choice! Personally, my favourite mix is raspberry and blackberry, but I couldn’t find any with taste to save my life when writing this recipe so I stuck with the blueberries instead!

IMG_9198

The wonderful part of this recipe is that it is very simple to make – bung all the ingredients for the cake in a food processor and whizz it round a few times and its ready – it takes less than a minute! If you don’t have a food processor thats not a worry, mix if all together with an electric mixer and it should be very very similar!

I did contemplate just making a berry flavoured cake, but that is for another time – I love the taste of the almonds with the fruit, its such a good combination!

IMG_9200

Ingredients

– 150g butter
– 150g golden caster sugar
– 150g self raising flour
– 150g ground almonds
– 2 large eggs
– 2 tbsp whole milk
– 1/2 tsp vanilla
– 250g of berries – I use 150g raspberries and 100g blueberries for this one!
– 25g flaked almonds
– 1 tbsp icing sugar

IMG_9215

Method

1) Preheat the oven to 180C/160C Fan/350F and grease and line an 8″ cake tin

2) Mix the butter, caster sugar, flour, ground almonds, eggs, milk and vanilla in a food processor/electric mixer until combined well

3) Spread half of the mixture on the bottom of the tin – spread the berries on top of the first half of the mixture, then spread the rest of the cake mixture on top

4) Sprinkle the cake with the flaked almonds and bake in the oven for 50 minutes or until a skewer comes out clean

5) Leave to cool on a wire rack and sprinkle with the icing sugar – serve!

IMG_9218

Tips and Ideas

This cake is served brilliantly with a scoop of vanilla ice-cream or a dollop of mascarpone cream! Although, my absolute go to side to this cake is some more fresh fruit – it combines with the sharpness of the baked fruit so well!

This cake will last in an airtight container for 4-5 days at room temperature.

This recipe is based on one by BBC Good Food found here that I have altered and adapted slightly! 🙂

IMG_9223 (1)

ENJOY!

P.s. Berrybakeygoodness!

You can find me on:
Instagram
Facebook
Pinterest
Twitter

IMG_8905

J x

23 thoughts on “Berry Bakewell Cake!

Leave a Reply

