Easter Fudge!

IMG_9004 This is essentially a super Chocolatey Fudgey mashup of easter sweets or just absolutely delicious chocolates. It is addictive to say the least! I have done many a fudge recipe now, so sorry if you’re bored of them (How dare you!) but I thought one more for a little while (this could be a lie) to set you up for Easter next weekend! This recipe is based on my original sweetie recipe on my blog – White Chocolate Clotted Cream Fudge. I thought that as I had demonstrated an easier fudge recipe where there is no boiling and getting to ridiculous degrees of temperature with my Triple Chocolate Cookies Fudge, I should go back to where it all started and create a mashup of them all! IMG_9017 The texture is delicious crumbly in a good fudgey way – its also a nice mix of white chocolate, and milk chocolate fudge, with the sweets all delicious combined in the middle and on top! I thought that the obvious chocolate to use is Mini Eggs. HOW CAN YOU NOT LIKE MINI EGGS?! And then I sort of hit a brick wall on what other sweets I could use, that aren’t eggs. So I just decided that I should pick some that are tasty, and often come in Easter Egg form – Cadburys Flake, and Terry’s Chocolate Orange. IMG_8992 WHAT A COMBINATION EH?

This recipe makes 45-50 good sized squares of sweet goodness. 

Ingredients

White Chocolate Fudge – 1 x 227g tub Rodda’s Cornish Clotted Cream – 275g caster sugar – 100g golden syrup – 1/2 vanilla pod/1tsp vanilla essence – 100g white chocolate chips or broken up pieces

Milk Chocolate Fudge – 1 x 227g tub Rodda’s Cornish Clotted Cream – 275g caster sugar – 100g golden syrup – 1/2 vanilla pod/1tsp vanilla essence – 100g milk chocolate chips or broken up pieces

Chocolate Decorations – 350g Mini Eggs – 1x Terrys Chocolate Orange, chopped – 3x Cadburys Flake Bars, chopped

IMG_8996

Method

1) Grease and line a 25cm/10inch tin. 2) In two pans, one for the white chocolate fudge and one for the milk chocolate, pour the cream, sugar, syrup and vanilla – heat gently, stirring until all the sugar has dissolved. 3) Bring to the boil and continue to boil until the temperature reaches 116 °C, test using a sugar thermometer. 5) When the mixture is hot enough, remove from the heat and beat until the mixture for about 5 minutes for it to thicken a little! 7) Near towards the end of the fudge mix thickening, pour in the 100g of whichever flavour chocolate chips and it will melt almost instantly and thicken the mix . 8) Pour one of the fudge flavours into the tin, and sprinkle over half of the decorations. Carefully pour over the other fudge flavour and then sprinkle the rest of the decorations on – leave to set for a good few hours in a cool place such as on the side – or preferably overnight. 9) Chop up the pieces into whatever size you like and enjoy! This will last up to two weeks in an airtight container! IMG_9009

Tips and Ideas

When pouring in the two different fudge flavours it can sometimes just pour in and melt the one below if it is still really hot, so try and spread the mixture whilst you’re pouring rather than in one spot so that it spreads evenly! You can of course use whatever chocolates in the decoration that you like – but these are my top 3 favourites! If you find that the fudge isn’t setting properly after a few hours then try storing it in the fridge to set, and it should harden up! A couple of people who have commented or who are on my Instagram have mentioned that they don’t have access to Clotted Cream because of being in another country for example – I believe that using normal Double Cream would work, or thick cream for example – as long as you beat it enough and it reaches the correct temperature it should work perfectly! IMG_9021 ENJOY! P.s. Happy Easter!!

You can find me on: Instagram Facebook Pinterest Twitter

IMG_8905

J x

23 thoughts on “Easter Fudge!

  1. nikkisuzanna says:

    hello jane! we don’t celebrate easter but this fudge looks absolutely incredible! i’m going to attempt it this weekend. for those of us living in the states, the clotted cream that the recipe calls for is impossible to find. i have done some reading & found that you can mix mascarpone with whipped cream, sugar & vanilla extract. do you think this may work similarly to the clotted cream or do you have any other suggestions of substitutions i may be able to use? i read also that butter is similar. thank you bunches in advance! nikki. xx

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jane's Patisserie says:

      Thank you so much Nikki! Well I know that another girl who tried to make it couldn’t find it either, but she tried using normal Double Cream or just thick cream? I believe it worked well for her! I just think the difference is the taste is slightly different, but it should still work! Do you have that sort of cream there? it might be easier then trying to make it! 🙂 xx

      Liked by 1 person

  2. nikkisuzanna says:

    i will try using super thick cream! i have found several recipes to try and make clotted cream. however, they all seem incredibly time consuming and more importantly, are not ‘the real deal.’ thank you so much jane!! xx

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jane's Patisserie says:

      Thats okay!! Please let me know if it works, I’m intrigued! and I agree, I always use genuine Cornish Clotted Cream so I have no idea what it would be like homemade, I do want to try it though! xx

      Like

  3. jonnyd2509 says:

    Thanks my recent ‘like’ on my blog on “Homemade cashew, cocoa and date Nakd bars”.
    Your Easter recipe is fantastically brilliant. I’m literally speechless (my mouth is full of dark choccie Easter egg).
    Keep up the great work!

    Jon

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jane's Patisserie says:

      Thats okay! It looked utterly delicious 🙂 I always struggle to find recipes for such a bake!
      And thank you hahaha I want to make more already but as you are too, I’m still eating easter eggs so I feel its a bit premature!
      Jane

      Like

Leave a Reply

