Gingerbread Cake! – Happy Mother’s Day!

IMG_8624

As it is Mothering Sunday tomorrow in the UK, I thought I would bake one of my Mum’s favourite types of cake that her Mum (my Granny) used to make her! I did plan on making Pistachio cake, but I ended up making frosted Pistachios so that will be another day…

I have always adored Gingerbread Cake because it is so full of lovely warming flavour, yet makes a change from Gingerbread Biscuits (not that there is anything wrong with them!) I tend to drizzle my loaf cakes with something sweet just as it can look pretty, and it takes away the edge of the ginger which sometimes some people can find quite harsh!

IMG_8625

As a kid I never really understood the point of Mother’s day, or Father’s day, which now I feel ridiculously stupid for as I have grown up, witnessed my oldest and dearest friends go through some hards times losing their family, and realising just how lucky I am to still have both of my Parents with me. And cake is the perfect way to celebrate this, and to say Thank You to my mum for being my hero.

IMG_8632

This recipe makes 1 larger loaf cake
This recipe is based on Mary Berry’s recipe with a few changes! 

Ingredients

Cake mixture
– 250g butter
– 250g dark brown sugar
– 125g black treacle
– 375g plain flour
– 5 tsp ground ginger
– 2 tsp ground cinnamon
– 2 eggs, beaten
– 300ml warm milk
– 2 tsps bicarbonate of soda

Decoration
– 250g icing sugar
– 1 tsp vanilla essence
– 2 tbsp water
– Freeze dried strawberries

IMG_8630

Method

1) Preheat your oven to 160C/325F and line a 1 1/2lb- 2lb loaf tin with butter & flour or grease proof paper.

2) In a pan, gently heat the butter, sugar and treacle together in a pan until smooth, allow to cool a little

3) In a large bowl, sift the flour, ginger and cinnamon together and pour in the treacle mix – stir to combine.

4) Add the beaten eggs and again stir to combine.

5) Mix the bicarbonate of soda in with the warm milk and allow it to froth and thicken a little – mix in with the rest of the mixture and pour into the tin – Bake in the oven for 50mins-1 hour

6) Once baked through (a skewer should come out clean) allow to cool

7) To make the icing, simply mix the icing sugar, water and vanilla until smooth and drizzle over the top of the cake – sprinkle over anything you like, but I love using Freeze dried Fruit!

8) Eat it all!

IMG_8627

Tips and Ideas

This cake will keep in an airtight container for 5-6 days! The flavour keeps on getting better as the days go on.

You could add some stem ginger to the recipe if you like when you beat in the egg, but I’m not a massive fan of stem ginger so I tend to avoid it if I am making it for my family!

This cake is beautiful with a bit of custard, or on the side of another dessert such as Vanilla Pannacottas!

IMG_8633

ENJOY!

P.s. Happy Mother’s Day to all the beautiful Mummy’s out there!

You can find me on:
Instagram
Facebook
Pinterest
Twitter

IMG_8905

J x

6 thoughts on “Gingerbread Cake! – Happy Mother’s Day!

  1. arlingwoman says:

    This is very similar to the recipe I use. I am a lover of ginger, though, and have found that lemon icing is amazing on gingerbread. Making it as a tiny round layer cake with raspberry jam in the center is also amazing. This from Laurie Colwin’s Home Cooking (a very opinionated author voice and some good cooking advice).

    Like

Leave a Reply

