Mint Slice – No-Bake Recipe

IMG_9256

Now, this has always been one of my favourite things to eat EVER since I can remember. We had it every now and again at my Junior School as dessert and it was my one of my utter favourites (Other than on Friday’s where we had cookies & milkshake, thats just insanely amazing)! But since I was little I have endeavoured to recreate the delicious biscuity, minty, chocolatey, scrumptious dessert that made me obsessed with baking.

I would even always tease my friends throughout High School because they wanted to be able to make it too, but me being me, I kept it a secret.. till now!IMG_8587

This recipe is so easy to make, and basically the Minty version of Millionaires Shortbread! The biscuit can be made with essentially any biscuits you like, but I always stick to half plain digestives and half chocolate digestives – one of my all time favourite biccys.

Luckily you can vary this recipe how you like – but I tend to find the recipe below is the best method!

IMG_9260 2

This recipe makes 25 squares

Ingredients

– 200g digestives
– 200g chocolate digestives
– 200g butter, melted
– 300g icing sugar
– 1 & 1/2 tsp peppermint essence
– 2-3 tbsp water
– 300g chocolate

IMG_9261

Method

1) Blitz the biscuits in a food processor until fine – mix in the melted butter and spread across the bottom of a tin (I use an 8″ square tin) – Leave to set for an hour

2) Mix the icing sugar, peppermint essence, and enough water till it forms a relatively thick paste – spread across the biscuit base

3) Melt the chocolate in a heatproof bowl and pour on top of the icing (trying not to disturb the icing too much) and leave to set in the fridge for at least another 2 hours

4) Cut the Mint Slice into 25 pieces (5×5) and enjoy! Keep in an airtight container in the fridge so that it doesn’t melt everywhere, and it’ll last about a week! (IF it lasts that long)

IMG_9262

Tips and Ideas

I often mix 100ml of double cream in with the chocolate so that the top is softer making it easier to cut, and more gooey and delicious

Also, I sometimes mix half a tin of condensed milk into the base and use half the amount of melted butter – Using the condensed milk makes the mix slightly softer and more gooey and utterly delicious, but as you can probably guess it makes it even sweeter too!

If you want people to know its minty without them asking, you can add a little bit of green food colouring to the mint mixture so that it gives it that minty-fresh look that everyone will love!

IMG_8577

ENJOY!

P.s. Sorry to all those that I didn’t tell the recipe too – I didn’t want to stop making it for you guys!! My bad.

You can find me on:
Instagram
Facebook
Pinterest
Twitter

J x

16 thoughts on “Mint Slice – No-Bake Recipe

Leave a Reply

