Bakewell Tart!

IMG_8554

Straight away I will admit that when I was younger (and I am talking about when I was about 10 years old) I used to think Bakewell Tart was super icky and disgusting because it wasn’t chocolatey, and I had convinced myself that I hated almonds – needless to say I was just being an utter fusspot.

I always believe that Bakewell’s are one of the ultimate classic bakes you can do, perfect for a dinner party, part of a dessert table, or part of your Sunday Lunch.

I was asked to make one for someone near me, so I thought along with that it is a super excuse to post the recipe I use, and also make some super cute and mini Bitesize Bakewell’s which as irresistible and perfect with a cuppa.

IMG_8567

I always use Mary Berry’s Recipe with slight changes here and there!

IMG_8536

Ingredients

Pastry
– 1x sweet short crust pastry pack
OR
– 175g plain flour
– 75g butter
– 3 tbsp cold water

Filling
– 2 tbsp Jam – Classic flavour is raspberry, but you can use whichever you like!
– 125g melted butter
– 125g caster sugar
– 125g ground almonds
– 1/2 tsp almond extract
– 1 egg, beaten
– 50g flaked almonds

Decoration
– 85g icing sugar
– 1/2 tbsp water

IMG_8542

Method

1) To make the pastry – rub together the flour and butter until it resembles bread crumbs, and add the water and mix to form a dough

2) Roll out the dough to a few mm thick on a lightly floured work surface and line a flan tin – chill in the fridge for 30 minutes so it doesn’t melt after being handled so much

3) Preheat the oven to 200C/180C Fan/400F – Line the pastry case with parchment paper and fill with baking beans – bake in the oven for 15 minutes, then remove the baking beans and parchment, and bake for a further 5 minutes so it dries out fully.

4) Once the case has been baked through – spread the Jam onto the base of the tart

5) Melt the butter in a pan or in a microwave, and then stir in the sugar, almonds, and almond extract

6) Mix in the beaten egg – pour the mix into the case on top of the Jam, and then sprinkle on the flaked almonds

7) Bake in the oven for 35 minutes

8) Once baked, cool whilst you make the icing drizzle – simply mix the icing sugar and water together and drizzle over the top!

IMG_8569

Tips and Ideas

I often swap between using raspberry jam and strawberry jam, both create a beautiful flavour!

To make the Mini Bitesize Bakewell’s I follow the same process but it takes a third of the cooking time so keep an eye on them!!

Serve the tart with some warm custard and you will have a wonderful warming and utterly delicious dessert – that even nut haters will love!

IMG_8571

ENJOY!

P.s. Sometimes you just can’t beat a classic.

You can find me on:
Instagram
Facebook
Pinterest
Twitter

J x

18 thoughts on “Bakewell Tart!

Leave a Reply

