Oreo Chocolate Truffles!

IMG_8467

I think its becoming a bit of a weekly habit in my house to make truffles, then eat them all up far too quickly… But at least this time I had an excuse – it was for a birthday!

As I was going to a family gathering with ages ranging all over the the place; I wanted to create a truffle thats alcohol free, and would be a winner all around – Chocolate truffles and OREOS! The Oreo’s create a crunch that is simply delicious along with the sweet and velvety chocolatey truffle centre from the rest of the mixture – absolutely delicious!

I love to package my Truffles in mini bags or boxes – but the leftovers I always keep in a jar! The truffles will last in the fridge for two weeks in an air tight container!

IMG_8505

I make 40 truffles out of this mix

Ingredients

Truffle mix 
– 150g milk chocolate chips/chunks
– 150g dark chocolate chips/chunks
– 300ml double cream
– 50g butter
– 1x 154g pack oreos

To decorate
– 250g milk chocolate
– 50g white chocolate

IMG_8470

Method

1) Heat the double cream in a pan until it just starts to boil and then turn off the heat – mix in the 300g of chocolate and then the butter until it is fully combined

2) Chop the Oreo’s up into very small pieces, it doesn’t have to be perfect but too big pieces might make it hard to shape the truffles

3) Mix the Oreo’s into the chocolate/cream mixture and pour it all into a container and leave in the fridge for at least 3-4 hours, or preferably overnight.

4) Using a cup of hot water, Shape the truffles using a melon baller or two spoons to create small rounds – I dip my melon baller into the hot water each time to clean off any excess and make it easier for the mixture to drop out

5) Place back in the fridge for a couple more hours or a quick blast in the freezer so the mixture is very cold again to prevent the truffles melting when decorating.

6) Melt the chocolate for decoration and dip each truffle into it trying to keep the coating light so that not much drips off and rest on a piece of greaseproof paper

7) Drizzle on the white chocolate and leave to set

IMG_8498

Tips and Ideas

Often if my truffles are misshapen I roll them in my hands so that it becomes smoother and hopefully rounder!

I use a dipping tool to help me with the decorating of the truffles, but you could also stick each truffle into a cocktail stick and stand them up in some polystyrene so the excess drips off itself!

IMG_8502

ENJOY!

P.s. I almost didn’t want to give these away as a present, they looked too delicious!

Other Truffle Recipes:

Amaretti, Pistachio & Rum Truffles

IMG_7818

Clotted Cream Chocolate Truffles

IMG_8134

You can find me on:
Instagram
Facebook
Pinterest
Twitter

J x

15 thoughts on “Oreo Chocolate Truffles!

  1. Tilly Frueh says:

    I have never made truffles, but they are on my list of candy to make for the holidays this December. After reading your recipe though, I don’t think I can wait that long. I’ve printed it off and hope to give these a shot later in the week. Thanks so much!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Robinne Weiss says:

    Oh, no…truffles NEVER last two weeks, even in an air tight container…I find they disappear long before that! 😉 Excellent idea to put the Oreos in them! I’ll have to try that with my next batch.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

