Classic Buttery Scones!

Scones are always my favourite treat in the summer, and when I go out for afternoon tea and cream tea. SO delicious and tasty. And I don’t know who I am trying to kid, I love them all year round and at any time I bake them.

IMG_8113

The wonderful thing about such a thing as this is that you can create so many different flavours – whether they are savoury or sweet! Therefore I decided to start off with a basic and buttery simple sweet scone so you can try to adapt it yourself, or you know you can follow this recipe to have a full proof scone!

IMG_8105

This recipe makes eight 5cm scones
This recipe is based on the BBC Good Food recipe with a few changes! 

Ingredients

– 90g cold butter, cut into small cubes
– 1 tsp baking powder
– 1/4 tsp salt
– 350g self raising flour, sifted, plus extra for dusting
– 50g caster sugar
– 1 tsp lemon juice
– 175ml milk (I use semi-skimmed)
– 1 tsp vanilla essence
– 1 egg, beaten – to glaze

IMG_8102

Method

1) Heat the oven to 220C/200C Fan/430F and place a lined baking tray in the oven to preheat

2) Tip the flour, salt, baking powder and butter into a food processor and pulse until it resembles bread crumbs – Pour the mixture into a bowl and stir in the sugar. Add the lemon juice to the dry mixture

3) Heat the milk in the microwave or on the hob so its warm but not hot – microwave will take about 30 seconds

4) Add the vanilla to the milk and mix

5) Make a well in the dry mixture and add the liquid – stir with a spatula as it will be very wet – it will form a relatively wet dough when it is all combined

6) Dust the work surface with some flour and tip the dough onto it – fold the dough over a few times so it is smooth but do not over work it!

7) Roll the dough out till it is about 4cm thick

8) Dip a 5cm round cutter into the spare flour and cut out the scones – you will probably get four out of the first go

9) Repeat step 7 and 8 so you get four more scones.

10) Take the tray out of the oven carefully and place the scones onto it – brush the tops with the beaten egg so its glazed and bake in the oven for 10 minutes – leave to cool slightly when baked

11) Serve with clotted cream and jam for the stereotypical delicious scone!

IMG_8095

Tips and Ideas

You could easily make this mix and use a smaller cutter so that the scones are more delicate which I often do – I then usually get 12 out of the mix.

I often find these are delicious when still warm as it makes them lighter and fluffier!

IMG_8117

ENJOY!

P.s. Jam then Cream? Or cream then Jam? Oh the eternal debate…

You can find me on:
Instagram as @janespatisserie
Facebook as Jane’s Patisserie
Pinterest as janespatisserie
Twitter as @janespatisserie

J x

33 thoughts on “Classic Buttery Scones!

  1. Vicky Louise says:

    Ooh what tasty looking scones!

    My boyfriends Nan was a scone lover, particularly with a blob of fresh cream and jam. For her funeral/wake the food spread was thousands of scones! 🙂

    I will definitely try and make your scones, though I never seem to get the right consistency with my mixtures!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jane's Patisserie says:

      Thank you so much! I used to hate baking scones because they always ended up more like biscuits but I’d definitely say this recipe is a good one too try 🙂 Its all in making sure that the consistency is right!

      Like

  2. Ayfer Demir says:

    I was looking for the scone recipe for a long time. Yours is looking amazing and I am sure they are also so delicious. I have a question. What can I substitute self rising flour with?
    Many thanks

    Like

  3. Keren says:

    Can I ask, from the recipe & instrucions; step 11, do you place scones on a hot tin? Can’t wait to try this recipe, found you through Britt but must make the Rolo cheesecake first 😀

    Like

    • Jane's Patisserie says:

      Yes I preheat the tray in the oven whilst making the dough, then take it out, put the cut scones on and place back in the oven to bake 🙂 and yessss Rolo cheesecake!!
      And Britt? Is this someone you know? 🙂

      Like

  4. Pingback: Impulse || Home
  5. Louise says:

    They sound so yummy. Love scones. I noticed you said take the tray out of the oven and place the scones on it. I haven’t tried preheating the tray before. Do you put the tray in the oven at the beginning of the oven preheat? I can’t wait to try this method!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

