Gluten Free Chocolate Brownies!

IMG_8160

I must admit first of all that I am a stereotypical Gal who has no real diet issues, such as I can eat gluten, I eat meat, and I don’t really have any allergies – other than bananas (I realise this is odd but hey) but I have been trying for a while to make something Gluten Free and if I am honest, I always get distracted by my other favourite recipes that aren’t so gluten free – however, I rediscovered this recipe and couldn’t explain to myself why I hadn’t posted it any sooner as it doesn’t even taste gluten free, it tastes even better than a regular brownie!

IMG_8150

These are gooey, chocolatey, nutty and perfect for a treat – they are the best gluten free brownies I have found, and quite frankly I prefer it to my other brownie recipes!

Also, as Valentines day is tomorrow and you wanted a little treat, try baking these! I promise you won’t regret it.

This recipe makes 16 decent sized brownies 

Ingredients

– 180g butter
– 175g dark chocolate
– 150g light brown sugar
– 1 tsp vanilla essence, or 1 vanilla pod with the seeds scraped out
– 3 medium eggs
– 15g cocoa powder
– 1 tsp baking powder
– 150g ground almonds
– 200g white chocolate chips
– 100g pecan nuts, chopped

IMG_8169

Method

1) Preheat the oven to 170C/150C fan/340F, and line a 20cm square tin with baking parchment

2) Melt the butter and chocolate together in a bowl over a pan of simmering water (bain-marie) until it is silky smooth

3) Take the bowl off the heat and stir in the sugar, leave to cool for 10 minutes

4) Once the mixture has cooled, whisk in the eggs until well combined

5) Stir in the cocoa powder, baking powder and ground almonds until combined and then carefully store in the chocolate chips and pecan nuts

6) Pour the mixture into the tin and bake in the oven for 40 minutes until a lovely crust has formed on top and they are still gooey in the inside – leave to cool in the tin completely

7) Cut into individual squares and serve – I often serve mine with some vanilla ice cream to make it a super delicious dessert.

IMG_8189

Tips and Ideas

Double check that the baking powder is gluten free – most are but its always better to be safe!

I find that sometimes bakes being gluten free can make them denser and off putting – but with this recipe and it being a brownie its not a problem as its gooey and that is how they are served best!

You can swap out the pecans for other nuts you like such as walnuts for example, but I love the slightly bitter taste with the white chocolate – it makes a great combination.

IMG_8162

ENJOY!

P.s. I would say hide these from your family and friends so that you can keep them all to yourself, but that would be selfish…

You can find me on:
Instagram as @janespatisserie
Facebook as Jane’s Patisserie
Pinterest as janespatisserie
Twitter as @janespatisserie

J x

8 thoughts on “Gluten Free Chocolate Brownies!

Leave a Reply

